Other Collectables


I was just about to write an article on coins. But I looked at one of the showcases and it was immediately clear that I was going to write about something else today.

Everyone is good at at least some activity. But often he is also bad at something, even very bad. I have to confess that I don't know how to give gifts. Especially I can't choose an appropriate gift. Picking out gifts for anyone is more stressful for me than, say, university exams used to be.

I finished university about 35 years ago, I don't have to take exams anymore, but I still have to give gifts. Life is hard.

One of the most difficult tasks was giving gifts to my mother. If she collected coins, it would have been easy. But she didn't. She didn't collect them.

Once, when she was over fifty, my mother said me she liked a porcelain figurine. And from then on, she got porcelain figurines from me every chance she got. Christmas, birthdays, holidays...

The first photo is the first figure my mother got from me. Why is the matchbox there? To set the scale. The box is 5 x 3.5 cm.

Well, the years went by.

There were more and more figures.

These were not only porcelain figurines, but also small ceramics for less important occasions.

Don't worry, I won't show you everything. That would be a very long article.

My mother died about 20 years ago. And all the ceramic and porcelain gifts I gave her came back to me.

My wife often says that she never thought she would live in a museum between exhibits. I assure her that she and our son are my most favorite exhibits. But I recognize that we have a lot of those collection items at home.

Even collecting porcelain has its rules. The most important thing for a collector is the view from below and behind.

Some pieces may be more expensive than if they were cast in gold. But I don't have those in my random collection.

I am determined that the next article will be about coins again. Unless I look elsewhere. My apartment is a great inspiration in this regard.

When writing, I use the Deepl.com translater. If someone has a better tool, I am publishing the article in my native language, Czech:
Právě jsem se chystal napsat článek o mincích. Ale podíval jsem se na jednu z vitrín a hned mi bylo jasné, že dnes budu psát o něčem jiném.

Každý je alespoň v nějaké činnosti dobrý. Často je ale v něčem také špatný, dokonce velmi špatný. Musím se přiznat, že já neumím dávat dárky. Zejména nedokážu vybrat vhodný dárek. Vybírání dárků pro kohokoliv je pro mě větší stress než bývaly třeba zkoušky na vysoké škole.

Vysokou školu jsem dokončil asi před 35 lety, už nemusím skládat zkoušky, ale stále musím dávat dárky. Život je těžký.

Jedním z nejtěžších úkolů bylo předávání dárků mé matce. Kdyby sbírala mince, bylo by to snadné. Ale ona je nesbírala.

Jednou, když jí bylo přes padesát, mi matka řekla, že se jí líbí porcelánová figurka. A od té doby ode mě dostávala porcelánové figurky při každé příležitosti. Vánoce, narozeniny, svátky...

Na první fotografii je první figurka, kterou ode mě dostala moje matka. Proč je tam krabička od sirek? Kvůli měřítku. Krabička má rozměry 5 x 3,5 cm.

No, roky ubíhaly... Figurek příbývalo. A přibývalo. Nejednalo se pouze o porcelánové figurky, ale také o drobnou keramiku pro méně významné příležitosti. Nebojte se, neukážu všechno. To by byl hodně dlouhý článek.

Moje matka zemřela asi před dvaceti lety. A všechny keramické a porcelánové dárky, které jsem jí kdy dal, se ke mně vrátily.

Moje manželka často říká, že si nikdy nemyslela, že bude bydlet v muzeu mezi expozicemi. Ujišťuji ji, že ona a náš syn jsou moje nejoblíbenější exponáty. Ale uzávám, že těch sbírkových předmětů máme doma hodně.

I sbírání porcelánu má svá pravidla. Pro sběratele je nejdůležitější pohled zespodu a zezadu. Některé kusy mohou být dražší, než kdyby byly odlity ze zlata. Ale ty ve své náhodné sbírce nemám.

Jsem pevně odhodlán, že příští článek bude zase o mincích. Pokud se zas nezadívám někam jinam. Můj byt je v tomhle velkou inspirací.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center