Three Nice Silver Franklins

I usually work away from home on contract jobs. As a result I don't usually order anything because I tend to move around frequently and don't want to lose an item in the mail. My finds as of late have been mostly in small shops and it has been tough to find any good deals. I did pickup a few Franklin half dollars this week. The definitely aren't gem BU but I still love them and the price was very good.

An interesting historical fact that I was unaware of until today. Shortly after the coins release the mint received numerous complaints about the initials JRS under the bust of Franklin. Apparently many individuals felt this was a salute to Joseph Stalin who of course led the communist USSR and killed millions of people. If you don't know the story you should definitely look it up, not a nice guy... But the JRS really referred to the designer's name John Sinnock.

IMG_20230331_103707423.jpg

IMG_20230331_103722221.jpg

About the coins:
Benjamin Franklin Half Dollars
Minted: 1948-1963
Weight: 12.5 grams
Diameter: 30.61 mm
Design: obverse- John Sinnock reverse- Gilroy Roberts
Total silver: 0.36169 troy ounces

I'll have to lookout for some more exciting finds here locally! Have a great day!

And my disclaimer: Gold and silver stacking can be a fun hobby but isn't for everyone. You can lose money. I'm not a financial advisor and this isn't financial advice, please always do your own research before spending your hard earned money.

References:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_half_dollar

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now