My Gold Sovereign 1871


}




Hello #silvergoldstackers,

I recently bought a box of old coins at a garage sale for $5. When I took it home and went through the contents, I was shocked to find a gold coin dated 1871.

I took it to a gold buyer down the road who said it was indeed gold and had a value of $300 (AUD). It weighs approx 5 grams.




Another Hive member advised it was a soveriegn and suggested I should seek the #silvergoldstackers community for adivce.

I looked at some other examples on the internet and my one is not in as good condition. The face on the queen is missing detail.

As I've never bought or sold real gold before, or owned any precious metal coins, I was hoping one of you would know:

  • What kind of coin is this exactly?
  • How much is it worth?
  • Would it be difficult to find a buyer?
  • What's the best way to go about selling it?
  • Should I sell it or do these things appreciate in value over time?

Any other info or advice about the coin would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Chris.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now