Testing .410 shotgun loads 10-2018


Hello, steemians, and welcome to my page, eh!

Yesterday we went to the shooting range that's not too far from where I live to test a couple of my guns. I brought my aftermarket M-1 carbine to test it again for function, and my .410 shotgun to test several different defense loads in it. Most of these loads are made for the .410/45 Colt revolvers such as the Taurus Judge and other revolvers like it.

The shotgun that I have is a Mossberg Model 500-E in .410 gauge. The configuration that I have comes with an 18 inch barrel with no choke, and a pistol grip instead of a buttstock. Because the barrel has no choke, you can shoot any 2-1/2 inch or 3 inch load through it that you might want to. Of course, birdshot spreads out more quickly than it would in a longer barrel, or with a tighter choke, but this shotgun wasn't made for bird hunting.

I tested 3 different loads in the shotgun to see how they perform from the 18 inch barrel. I tried standard slugs, OOO buckshot, and the relatively new load from Winchester, the PDX1 410 Defender load, which is 3 plated disks followed by 12 plated BB shot. All three of the shells that I tested were in the 2-1/2 inch length. This shotgun will handle 3 inch shells also, but the 2-1/2 inch shells are what I found locally.

The video is 8 minutes long, but it goes by pretty quick when you're watching it. I edited all of the dead spots out of it before uploading it.

Thanks for stopping by to watch my video, and I hope you enjoy it!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center