Overcoming My Fear Of Heights in 250 Words

11755758_10152881765585810_4643943611683126106_n.jpg

As an only child and a girl there are many things a female has to overcome to live in today's society. Although, I was raised in a home where women were a strong force, I was a child that lived in a fantasy world with my books and toys. I was timid, shy, and fearful of everything.

Over time I was able to conquer many of my fears, but one that stands out in my mind was the fear of heights. The first time I went up in a helicopter my father took me on a ride over San Francisco and then Hawaii, the fear eased but did not subside.

It was not until I got a little older that I started to test my fear further, by going to the highest skyscrapers like The Empire State building, or the Windows of the World in the World Trade Center and look down. That helped but it was not until I started to climb Sierra Nevada, Mt. Shasta, and Rocky Mountains that my fear was finally conquered.

At first, I was completely hesitant and a little nervous but I pushed myself and sometimes I took baby steps, but in the end it was an amazing feeling to overcome such a horrible fear. To live without fear is the best gift we can give ourself.

Today, many people would never suspect that I was ever afraid of anything, and that is because I have always worked my way through personal fears. Peace.

Break.png

To join this contest with @bestowingfire, click here.

I found this contest by the daily list generated by @moneyinfant.

This photo is the property of @eaglespirit, do not use without permission.

@EagleSpiritCommentUpvoteResteem.png

UP COM FOLL BORDER.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center