descensus82's instagram Feed : 2019/03/29 21:24:55


Found a body at the rest stop

Buried in the woods beneath

The garbage and leaves

Workers clearing overgrowth

Saw hidden in the brush

Just beyond the line of the trees

A jawbone and teeth

Winter into spring on Fulton Street

And cities grow weeds, and cities grow

And cities keep secrets in the trees

In the shadow of a pyramid

And cities grow weeds, and cities grow

By the river and the covered bridge

All cities grow weeds, and I know

All the memories your dreams retrieve

You pick a dress out for the funeral

Hold a vigil in a field, release

Lanterns at night and I saw

On the shoulder of the interstate

When I followed your eyes

All the crosses for the accidents

All the photos and the flowers by the street

Will I ever put flowers by the street?

Will I ever put flowers by the street?

Never needed to live and suffer through the pain

All the tyrannies of grief, if I ever do

Will I even have the strength to do anything?

Could I go and leave flowers by the street?

And I saw signs on the shoulder of the interstate

When I followed your eyes

And I saw lights fading every monument

And the passage of time

If I could just try, could I banish all the pain in you?

Give you everything you need

If I hid rose quartz underneath the mattress

Would it help your nights

When you're struggling to sleep

Will I ever be half what I can be?

Can I ever be half what I can be?

If you needed me to be anything

Could I even be half of what you need?

Will I ever be me? Will I ever be me?

If I could take hands to shake you, would you want me to?

If it shook you out of grief, if I gave chase

Summers when you tunneled into nothingness

Would it bring you some release?

If I saw signs on the shoulder of the interstate

When I followed where your eyes went

I saw nights spent after midnight in a eulogy

That you never got to give

And I saw fenders bent hard on an oak tree

I saw sirens at the scene

I saw cigarettes falling in the tangle of machinery

Between the console and seat

And I saw hands reach, car drift across the center line

I saw it all in my dreams

And I saw leaves hiding bodies in the tree line off the interstate

#share2steem #ladispute #panorama #lp4 #folsomstreet #music #lyrics #merch



descensus82


Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now