Shakesbeer in Denver

Let me tell you about the love of my life.
Shakespeare.
I don't recall reading any of his work in high school. When I learned I had to take an entire course in college featuring his work, I was kind of surprised- no other author received the same treatment.
And then I took the course. And fell head over heels.
Studying Shakespeare was so fun. We acted, we learned how Shakespeare's work could be interpreted in various ways, we learned about all the "lowbrow" aspects (which are the best parts, really). I've been searching for The Bard ever since.

I found him for free, in Kansas City's Southmoreland Park. I may or may not have dragged multiple friends there as well (and there's a chance they were very, very bored, but went because they love me)


Image Source

I paid to see him, in various productions. I've seen gender-bent Hamlet and Much Ado about Nothing (which were fascinating, and takes some of the issues of the times/plays and turns them on their head).

But I don't think I've ever had as much fun at a production as the ones that I didn't pay for: Shakesbeer.
I've seen three of their productions: Much Ado about Nothing, Henry IV, and The Tempest. Some things I learned about their productions....
The actors are drunk (and have a beer in their hand the whole time).
This leads to the problem of the "splash zone". Being too close to the action can lead to getting splashed with beer. I also had an actor pretend to violently puke in my lap. It was hilarious but I am also a sympathetic puker- I'm not sure he knew the danger that he was in.
The actors aren't afraid to interact with the audience (hilarity ensues). My favorite was during the shipwreck scene in the Tempest- the audience had squirt guns and squirted the stage with water to mimic the storm.
Occasionally the actors will drop character/speak in less than Shakespearean English. Sometimes because they forgot their lines, other times to add a bit of their own interpretation to the scene.

Image may contain: 2 people, beard and hat
Image Source

If you're in Denver and have an opportunity to see one of their performances, you should. But if you don't, and you appreciate what they do, you should follow their instagram, and their facebook. If you're feeling extra generous you could also support them at their patreon.


IMG_3826 (2).JPG
Image sources are listed beneath the image
Reflections by Sunravelme

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center