The Seven Day Beer Challenge # 2

beer-curry.png

The Steemit community is incredible! I was amazed with the support I received yesterday from you all and I would like to thank you very much for being with me during the hardship that this challenge is 😅

Even those of you who were surprised to see me posting about beer were good-humoured enough to have a laugh! Some felt so sorry for my plight they even left me tips. @karencarrens gave me the idea to keep the beer I buy so then I can use it later in recipes, @jesusagon advised me to taste the beer when it’s really cold, and finally, @teutonium suggested I should try Sagres - an authentic Portuguese beer - ... in a bar! 😲 Take it easy @teutonium I am a beginner! I did try the beer you recommended, though; but, in a restaurant.

General Info

Sagres is a Portuguese beer that, according to what it says on the bottle, has been around since 1940. In the Indian restaurant we had lunch today it costs 2 Euros 😨 , maybe that is why all the people at the tables around ours were having draft beer instead.

So, for the first time ever in my life I ordered a bottle of beer in a restaurant:

“Can, I please have a bottle of Sagres?” I asked the waiter, and soon added “with a straw, please!” he looked at me and enquired “with two glasses?” No, I said confidently, “one glass and a straw”. A minute later he came with my beer, kindly poured it into my glass and handed me the straw while my husband was shaking his head across the table.

I smelt it first, obviously; and it did not feel great. This beer is very different from the one I had yesterday; in colour, smell and taste 😕 I thought of what @ruth-girl said about non-alcoholic beer and envisioned the next five days to come with great despair.

Basically Sagres smells of gastric juices and tastes like cleaning product.

It is going to be a looong week. Thank you @trumpman!

Luckily, after that I had a delicious meal with my beautiful husband 😋

Would I have this beer again?

No, thank you.

Who am I going to challenge?

My dearest, dearest @ruth-girl; a most talented young woman who writes about science, has an incredible talent for producing fiction, who can draw, who takes amazing photos. She is a multitalented individual and, on top of that, works really hard for the Steemit science community. She has my most profound respect, gratitude and affection 😍

So, @ruth-girl what do you say? 😊

These are the rules you need to keep in mind

  1. You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
  2. The beer must be something you have never tasted before
  3. You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
  4. Nominate someone every day
  5. If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
  6. Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Five days to go now!! Cheers Stemmit community 😊

Original photos taken with an iPhone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center