The Power of Writing (Self-Introduction)

FB_IMG_1515295056058.jpg

According to studies, humans are naturally social, psychological, and emotional beings. We tend to let others sense what we think and feel regardless of the way we use depending on what is preferable to us. That means if we are vocal, we directly say what keeps on popping out from our minds to people whom we intend to talk to; however, if we could barely utter even just a single word, a more powerful way to shout things out in the open is through putting our thoughts and emotions into blazing words scribed on a paper or encoded on a screen. Either of those paves the way for human interaction and self-expression to take place, but what's frequently done here is the latter. You are doing that and I am doing the same. We write.

Hello, Steemians! My name is Cy and I am glad to be part of this community where I can only not just freely share my thoughts to everyone, but also learn from other people as they share beautiful lessons about all aspects of life based on their own experiences, based on what they observed from the people and everything around them, or based on their wild and creative imagination through their own precious works of written art. Yes, it may not be easy to write and produce personal quality compositions because writing itself has some rules and technicalities, but if we keep on doing it and ask our peers or others who are good at it to give us constructive criticisms, surely our writing skills will gradually improve. We have to admit that we can never be great on the first try. I am actually one of the living proofs that no one embodies excellence in doing things for the first time.

Way back in my high school to college years, I used to be a very active student-writer who had always been sent by my school to different writing competitions and been a part of the school's official campus paper as an Editor-in-Chief. That wasn't easy. That wasn't given to me just because I was on top of the class or I was close to a teacher. That was given to me because it's what I deserved. After a series of screenings, I got chosen with a few of my fellow students. That's the prize we got and I thought it would just end there. We would just wait for the day of the competition or wait for our writing assignment for the campus paper, write it, and then submit. Done! I thought it was as simple as that. Later then I realized that I should give up some things that typical students do. I had to give up chatting or playing with friends after class. I also had to be excused from the class for some time especially if the competition was just around the corner. I had to enclose myself in a room filled with piled books and a computer that I wished would talk to me. That's because we were scheduled to meet almost everyday to sit down and write pieces based on the topic given by our mentors and then the next days, they sat down with us for feedbacking and mentoring. It was tiring at first but I slowly got used to it. Anyway, the brighter side is that it gave me more wonderful prizes, the meaningful learning experience and an opportunity to learn and be great in writing.

See? Because I grew up in an educational community which gave me a lot of avenues to enhance and to strengthen my writing skills, I became even more confident to say that indeed, I AM A WRITER AND AN AUTHOR OF MY OWN MASTERPIECES. That skill actually has been more useful to me for almost three years now especially because I've been practicing my profession from the age of 20 (until now that I am 23) as a licensed professional teacher in one of my country's prestigious universities. It became more useful in a sense that it is part of my responsibilities as a teacher to train and to coach student-writers before sending them to competitions and more than that, I am also responsible for producing a quality campus paper with our young and vibrant editorial board.

I just realized how much fulfilling it is on my part to share what I learned to the young ones and to continue doing what I used to do before. I also realized that this time, it's more than just human interaction and self-expression. It's taking part to shape the hands of a future best-selling author of all times. When I face my student-writers, I always share to them my experiences before when I was just like them. No wonder that seeing them write will forever bring me back to the old times no matter how time flies so fast and just like the beauty of a silent expression of human soul (writing) , it'll never fade and forever will be engraved in my heart.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center