Self Care Saturday : Basic Face Care Routine

woman-3219507_1920.jpg

It's been awhile since I've done a self care post so here it goes. I want to share my knowledge on face care for anyone looking to step up their self care game in the face area.

First thing you want to do is examine your face in the mirror and determine what kind of skin type you have. It can be oily, dry, or a combination of the two.

If you have oily type this means you are most likely prone to acne due to the over active sebum glands which are your natural oil glands. Nothing wrong with that other than the likelihood of having acne which can even carry on through adulthood. My mom had this issue and let me tell you, it was painful for her. Now that I am older and have learned about the different skin types, her breakouts were actually avoidable, to a certain extent.
What you can do to prevent breakouts is have a solid routine geared towards oily skin. It's a common misconception that if you have oily skin that you don't need to moisturize. False. You still need to moisturize. As a matter of fact doing so will counteract your oil glands and reduce the amount of oil produced. Try to pick a moisturizer that best suits your skin type. I recommend a salicylic acid moisturizer like the grapefruit one that Neutrogena carries.

Before any moisturizer, be sure to clean your face with the appropriate facial cleanser for your skin type as well. For dryer skin types I don't recommend harsh soaps. Stick to a more gentle kind to avoid drying out your skin even more. It's super important for dry skin types to moisturize right after cleansing to avoid dry patches. I also recommend using a weekly moisturizing mask you can find in any department store or places like Walgreens or Rite aid. I buy all my stuff at Walmart.

My Personal Face Routine


  1. Face wash. I tie my hair back and wet my whole face. Usually I just get this done during my bathing routine because I hate when water drips down my elbows. The cleansers I use are a charcoal base facial bar or my coconut body wash. Be sure to wash away all soap bubbles to avoid damage from excess chemicals stuck to your face or hairline.

  2. Toner. To be honest I usually forget this step. Toner helps with tightening pores and other things specific to the type you buy. Mine adds moisture and I just apply it to my cheeks since I feel like they're dry(combination shitty skin here)

  3. Moisturizer. I like to use the grapefruit scented one from Neutrogena I had mentioned earlier. I like to utilize this type in the summer when my skin is more on the oily side. Moisturizing right after cleansing really protects your skin after you've taken off the outer layer of dead skin cells revealing the more sensitive skin underneath. This is why I don't recommend exfoliating daily. You can really be doing a lot of damage. Imagine sand paper to baby skin, because that's what you're doing. Just don't.

  4. Preventative measures. Throughout the day, try to keep the non facial hairs out of your face and keep your facial hairs clean via face or baby wipes. I use baby wipes since that's what's available in my house, being a mom and all. Try to wash up after any messy meals that might've ended up on your face. This will all help to avoid breakouts.

Some natural moisturizers I like to use is olive oil and coconut oil.

If you have any questions about face care or have specific issues you'd like me to address just hit me up in the comment section below! One love 🤗❤✨

*Picture from pixabay.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now