Tiny morning visitor

This morning I wanted to water the orchids but found a little visitor in the watering bucket. It must have fallen in overnight, it is actually tiny, about 2cm across in that position, but I wanted to play around with the macro functions on my phone.
macro uroplectes.jpg
This species is Uroplectes Triangulifer and they aren't venomous, if you are stung by one of these, the effect would be similar to a bee sting. The scorpion is afraid, that's why it is curled into a s small a shape as it can be.
After the photo session, I put it back outside and it ran under the plant pots. Hopefully it will be safe there and not go into the tenant's house because if they see it, they will kill it. I live on a rocky hill and it is quite common to find scorpions in the warmer months. They come towards the house because they hunt insects at night and insects such as moths are attracted to the house lights

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center