Hi Steemit, Bringing you some DIYbio

Hey community, it's both a pleasure and exciting to be kicking off my journey on Steemit with you all. I really believe in what the Steemit project is striving to do!

About me

11745796_10153502644944628_4512866620389229082_n.jpg
(Selling sausages for science! BBQ fundraiser for BioQuisitive)

I'm Andrew, a Californian who grew up in Australia after mom remarried a Tasmanian winemaker. I've been in the US Navy, spent time all over the Asia Pacific and Middle East, and have since returned to Australia. I've just graduated from university with a BSc in biochemistry and molecular biology and love to fiddle with all sorts of tech.

Along with an amazing team/friends, I run a biohacker space/community lab in the heart of Melbourne called BioQuisitive . It's mission, like many of these community labs around the world, is to democratize access to science. To achieve this we created our own PC1 laboratory in a renovated shipping container.

Rest assured, while I was an undergrad embarking on this journey, we've had (and still get) help from many industry and academic professionals as well as the Federal Government in setting this up and keeping it above board. At BioQuisitive you might find yourself doing a mini workshop on genetic engineering, making equipment, sciencing beer, planning your own experiment or just hanging out being a nerd with the rest of us.


(Our community lab BioQuisitive)

My passion

The imagination, curiosity and self actualization. While pursuing my own line of scientific investigation is invigorating, sharing this experience and collaborating within it as part of a community takes the cake.

I find it unfortunate that many of us who find the world around us so interesting still feel sidelined from participating in developing our understanding of it. Perhaps we don't have access to a well equipped and funded lab, or maybe haven't formally studied a specific field of science. I'm here to tell you all of that doesn't matter, and you too can get involved and contribute in your own way. Times aren't changing, they have changed, and everything you need to get involved is freely available.

My goal on Steemit

Once a month I plan to bring fun, comprehensive and reproducible projects to Steemit. My background is mainly in the life sciences, so starting out you can expect a lot of that. Don't have your own equipment or access to a community lab? No problem, I'll be including instructions or extra resources so you can build your own equipment from scratch or by hacking cheap and easily sourced household items.

charlie.jpg
(A project looking at various types of molds, could one make a new cheese?)

The money earned from these posts will be fed back into making more projects, posts and hopefully to BioQuisitive (we are a charity after all) to help support access to science by the public.

With a little bit of time and energy you'll get to change how you view this world :microscope:

P.S. If you have any suggestions with formatting or content, please let me know.

-Andrew :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now