Report from a Covid19 testing Lab - #3

By angelolucas pixabay.com


So, that was it.

When I interviewed for the lab job, they told me it'd be 5-6 days/week, and I agreed to these conditions as they would've given me enough time to do college work on the side (still need to graduate despite the pandemic, heh).

Then hours were increased from 8 h to 10 h/shift.

Then our day off was cancelled, again.

After working 7 days in a row, 64 h (5 days night shift), I had to throw the towel because things wouldn't get better. My shift managers hadn't had a day off since St. Patrick's Day (17th of March)!

I offered to stay on a "reduced" schedule with "just" 50 h/week. Still a lot of work, but enough free time to allow me to finish my assignments and study for my exams.

They declined that and wished me goodbye.

They prefer letting someone who's already trained go, to then train someone new.

I do regret quitting because I wanted to do this work. I wanted to help, I wanted to make myself useful - I still do! I told my shift manager I'd return on 50 h/week and she said she'll try to talk to them.

The problem is, if they give me sensible hours, they have to give them to everyone, and that's just not acceptable.

The lab is a private company, usually doing agricultural testing. They have been tasked with this job by a national agency which, as far as I know, pays for the workers and new facilities/equipment. Does the company itself get paid? I don't know.

But this behaviour doesn't make sense. Two other people (that I know of) quit this week before I did. My last straw was the fact that they didn't want to give us Sunday off, making me work 15 consecutive days - assuming the Sunday after that would be off.

Most people working in this lab are in their (very early) 20s. They're often undergrad students, most of them still live with their parents. They're paid well, compared to what they'd get elsewhere, and many stay with this job for the money. Others need a work placement to graduate, and thanks to Covid19, their summer placements have been cancelled.

Yes, this is an emergency situation. Yes, they need to get as many tests processed as possible. But honestly? The way they are handling this is wrong, it harms people, and it is highly unethical.

I signed up with the HSE (Irish health services) and registered for a volunteer newsletter to see if there are other ways in which I can be helpful during this pandemic. I still want to help, and I am willing to work my ass off.

But I'm not willing to trade my health.




Mad Scientist.png
Signature by @atopy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center