Looking Forward to the Upload?

structure-light-led-movement-158826.jpeg

If my memory wasn’t pretty much perfect, I doubt I would remember any fears of mortality at all. I might say that was lifetimes ago.

If you’re reading this, then obviously from where I’m sitting, I don’t really know how it got to you. I have some ideas, but there’s really no way I could learn this. If I’m three generations deep into the computer simulation and you’re right before we were able to make this happen, then I’m not sure how this got back ‘out’. Now, if you’re actually four or a hundred generations into it all – some time that would be ‘behind’ me then that scenario would make more sense.

Unless down through the infinity of it all someone figured out how to push back. It doesn’t really matter. And that’s the real joy of it all, the greatness of letting everyone know. Even if I’m not exactly sure I’m letting anyone new know…

It’s so much better when you know.

As soon as I accepted the new paradigm of life as a possibility, then the whole ‘transformation’ was pretty easy. I think I still get happier every year. The potentials of everything continue to grow. So whatever part of the world you’re in now, trust me, it gets better.

Let me tell you how this might happen (has happened?). At some point in your own post Cold War period, your post-manufacturing, maturing services industry period, people will start talking about mankind having the capability to “upload” their consciousness. There will be great interest in AI and Big Data and for a long time no one will know what to do with any of it except for making Sci-Fi films.

But then there will be a computer ‘smarter’ than a person (calculators are smarter than some people I know, but that’s not really what I mean). This computer will amaze everyone… for about a month. People quickly understand that to outsmart is not the same as being smarter. But this computer will have effects on your daily life – you just won’t know exactly how, and you’ll quickly just accept it.

Eventually people will start predicting when computers will be strong enough to store everything that’s in a human brain. Some people will get rich off early adapters by selling memory ‘templates’ of various kinds, assuring customers that they can start recording all their memories now for easy retrieval later – especially if they can prey on a customer’s fear of natural memory loss or death.

For a while it will just be like Big Data in its infancy – a whole lot of potential, a whole lot of data, but very inefficient use and few practical applications. Then the middleware folks will step in and someone will develop ten more types of data structures and there will be lots of jobs ‘migrating legacy content’. Consulting companies will make a fortune obfuscating the simplicity of it all which will pave the way for future generations of consultants, etc.

Eventually, you’ll all basically either be consultants or artists. You’ll spend a little time creating the things that will create other things. Most of your time you’ll spend learning what you want and creating just because it makes you stronger and everything else more interesting.

Take it from this peanut. It’s going to be great for almost everyone, but best for those who see it coming and embrace it when it arrives.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center