Quick Review of Ibotta the Money-Saving App

Like most people, I like to save money when I can. I was never really one of those bring coupons to the grocery store type of people. I have nothing against it, it just seemed like too much of a pain, or I would just forget. My wife introduced me to an app called Ibotta.

How it works: Ibotta is a free mobile coupon and cash back shopping app. You go to stores that are participating, most of the big ones are Safeway, Fred Meyer, QFC, Walmart, Target just to name a few. There will be lists of products divided into categories which are eligible for cash back. So all you do is select the item and complete a simple task. Usually watching a short video or answering a multiple choice question on your spending habits etc. Purchase the item and be sure to keep your receipt.

From there it will have you take a picture of your receipt and scan the barcode of the item(s) you purchased that are eligible for discounts.

Pros: The main thing I like about the app is that you get cash back, not a discount on the item. So once you have accumulated at least $20 in cash back from your purchases you can then transfer the money to PayPal. I guess what I like about it is that, if I so choose, I can use my cash back money and buy whatever I want with it. While it's nice to get discounts on products, getting cash back to me is more rewarding because I can buy stuff that almost feels like "free money". Also, another pro is that they have certain generic items you can get cash back just for buying. For example, usually you there are offers for cash back just for purchasing any item at the store and taking a picture of your receipt. Other times there will be cash back if you buy any generic item. For instance, there are occasionally offers for cash back on purchasing any cereal, regardless of the brand etc.

Cons: What I don't like about it is that there aren't a ton of items that are eligible for cash back. And the ones that are are usually the more expensive brand. Hey, I'm cheap and I usually buy the generic brand when I have the choice. So because of this it really seems to limit the amount of products I feel like purchasing.

Overall, I think this is a good money-saving app. It's definitely not a scam as I've transferred money into my PayPal account a few times.

Anyone have thoughts on the Ibotta app or suggestions on other money-saving tips or apps?Screen Shot 2017-08-03 at 1.52.02 PM.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now