The Old Dog Presents: Our Saved Trees Winners!

What a great response I had to my request for you to show me examples of the saved trees that you have seen.

Tree Tuesday, Getting to The Root of The Problem With 5 SBD in Prizes!

Spoiler Alert: I've added extra prizes so we can spread the Steem around!

Trees fill us with awe, especially when we think that many of them are much older than we are. As I wrote in my previous article they may take generations to grow but just moments to cut down. For this reason alone it's good to think things over before sparking up a chain saw!

Here's a Beautiful Tree Saving Poem Called "Trees"!

I learned this poem as a child at school and it has always had a big impact on me. It was written by Joyce Kilmer and was first published in 1914. He was known for his poetry that focused on both the beauty of nature and his religious faith. This poem "Trees" is unique because it personifies the tree that he is writing about and in it he admits that in comparison to the beauty and majesty of a tree his poem is, in essence, nothing!

In 1938 the US federal government purchased 3,800 acres of land to save it from extensive logging and named it The Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest! In effect his poem saved many trees and thus it finds a fitting place under our savedtrees tag!

Joyce Kilmer (Poet) 1886-1918 Photo credit

Here's the poem. I hope that it touches you as it does me!

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth's sweet flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.

Joyce Kilmer

Some of The Impressive Saved Trees Examples That You Sent Me!

There were so many cool examples. I'm listing a top three and then some of my other favorites! You guys always make it tough to choose! You're awesome and you make things fun!

@onceuponatime sent us this example from his home in Lutraki Greece. It would have been easy just to cut these trees down to make room for the pergola but, as you can see, another solution was found! 3 SBD for this one!

@melinda010100 saw this growing in Calumet Michigan. I'm not sure what to think about this as it looks totally bizzare but what great respect for saving the tree! I'm sending @melinda010100 2 SBD for this unique example!

Wow. I must say that this is a beautiful tree. Perhaps a Mediterranean pine? @loveisintheair, also in Greece wrote an article about it here. Take a look because there are many photos of this from different angles!

Here Are Some More Examples

Clockwise from left photos sent by: @alexandraioana26, @theguruasia, @kartiksingh. You all get .50 SBD

Here are two more. The one on the left is from @ace108 and the one on the right is a beautiful place that was visited by @steem-samiam. I'm sending you each .50 SBD for playing along!

That Was Fun! We'll do Something With Trees Again in The Future

I hope that you enjoyed this article about "Our Saved Trees Winners!"

Until next time,

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Let's Succeed Together!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now