The Steemicide Song

(To the tune of "Tower of Song" by the late great Leonard Cohen.)

Well, my followers are gone, and my hair is gray
I ache in my wallet where they used to pay
And I'm crazy for Steem, but I'm not coming on
I'm just posting my posts for mere cents
In what this place has become

I said to the Guilds: how lonely will I get
The Guilds still haven't answered yet
But I can see them voting all day long
For other people's content
In what this place has become

I will be flagged for this, but I had no choice
I was born with the curse of a whining voice
And twenty-seven dolphins from the reef beyond
Just stopped giving me money
In what this place has become

Now you can say that I've grown bitter but of this you may be sure
The whales have got their hands in the wallets of the poor
And there's a mighty hardfork coming, but I may be wrong
You see, you hear these funny rumours
In what this place has become

I see you standing on the other side
I don't know how the river got so wide
I loved you Steemit, way back when
And all the bridges are burning that you might have crossed
And I still feel close to the Steem that I lost
I'll never have to lose it again

Now I bid you farewell, I'm not ever coming back
I'm moving back tomorrow to that forum down the track
And I'll be whining on that forum, long after I'm gone
I'll be trolling about Steemit
And what that place has become

No, I have no intention of committing steemicide. I'm just a singing cynic sometimes. If you are considering not voting for this, I suggest you read this first.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now