Sam-saturday--Something About.Me

In getting involved with @bluemoon's challenge I have learned so many things about other participants, and have enjoyed every moment.
One thing I would like to share with others is that I enjoy a good beer on occasion, and around 10 years ago started brewing my own beer.
The motive for starting making Home brew was that I found hops growing on the property I had purchased years ago.
Since that time I have replanted hundreds of rhizomes and now harvest and dry anywhere between 25 and 30 lbs of hops a year.

Unearthed rhizome with new shoots.

Mature hops laid open to show the lupulin gland. This gland turns yellowish in color when mature. Hops or Humulus lupulus are a cousin of cannabis.

They contain the alpha acids, beta acids, and hop oils that add hop character to beer.

Before modern refrigeration, hops served as an important beer preservative.

P1220821.JPG

P1220390.JPG

P1220421.JPG

P1190424.JPG

Hops are picked and then dried out in an oast.

P1190422.JPG

P1190430.JPG

IMG_1458.JPG

Records that I keep of every batch I brew.

IMG_1514.JPG

If you purchase hops they will usually come in the form of pellets. Brewing with fresh hops comes with the added benefit of having been cultivated and grown without pesticides, herbicides, or fungicides.

https://www.kegworks.com

This is an activity that is totally hobbitational, and Allows me to creat my own nector of the Gods.

Benjamin Franklin, "Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." This famous quote has been attributed to Mr. B Franklin, but has recently been disputed whether he really spoke these words.
One thing for sure is that this good old boy enjoyed a mug of Ale on a regular basis.

Hope you enjoyed! thebigsweed

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center