This Town Need Guns (Poly-Rhythmic Rock Band Review)

image

TTNG also known as This Town Needs Guns are a British math rock band from Oxford. They were formed in 2004, and are currently signed to the American label Sargent House Records.

They currently have three albums out:
Disappointment Island (2016)
13.0.0.0.0 (2013)
Animal (2009)

Stuart Smith was on vocals for the first album and I loved his passion he brought to the songs. He left the band in 2011 to form a family and was replaced by Henry Tremain.

Henry Tremain is from a band called Pennines. If you enjoy TTNG, Pennines is jazzy, melodic and a great listen.

The guitarist, Tim Collis, uses a common technique called tapping but powered up to the next level. I have attempted to learn many songs of theirs but can only manage a 4 due to his intricate finger work. I need to practice more so I can post videos once steemit has their own video and not use YouTube.

Tim's brother, Chris Collis, drives the drums with his poly rhythmic beats. 26 is truelly dancier than 4.

I have listened and enjoyed this band for years! I hope more get into math rock because 4:4 time signature is like facebook. Boring. I wish math rock will influence music in the future like how blockchain has influenced money.

If you are interested and want to know more my favorite Math Rock bands, feel free to shoot me a message

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center