Old Airport Road Trail Sampler

DJK39345.jpg

Judi enjoying some trailrunning


Old Airport Road has access to some great trails. If you want to check some out, you are welcome to come with me on Saturday.

I'll be heading out at 10:00am, and will be happy to take you along for a small loop, or the whole route. Feel free to get in touch with me on strava if you need any more info.

First, I'll go over the whole route, then I'll detail the loops a bit more.

So the route -
TrailsSamplerRoute.jpg

planned route for Saturday


I'll begin around NJ, then head over to the 3 flags parking lot (across from Coop). From there, loop the hospital, then into the trail to the Cemetery, then loop Bristol Monument, then back home.

10:15am
Breaking it down a bit, here is the first loop. From the underpass by the Coop, run along Frame Lake, behind the new Hospital building to Frame Lake Trail, then back to the start. This is a tough bit of rock, but is a very small section and a beautiful run.

Oh, and it is kind of a big hill :)
Unofficial 1.5km Circle Stanton Territorial Hospital Clockwise Trail Fartlek


10:25am
This places me back at the Coop underpass, and at the start of the next trail segment.

The next trail segment is a bit over 2k, and may be the most challenging section. Expect some natural stone stairs, unavoidable mud puddles and loose dogs. (bring treats!)
2.2km Coop to Cemetery via Trail

DJK36315.jpg

top of the hill just before the cemetery


10:50 - 11:00 am
This brings me to the Cemetery parking lot, where you can join me for another small, somewhat easier trail loop around the Bristol Monument.

Starting at the parking lot, I'll run up the gravel road, past Bristol Pit, to Old Airport Road. There is a lovely paved trail path there, which leads to the gravel lot below the Bristol Monument. I'll run toward the monument, into the trails, then follow them back to the rear of the cemetery, and along the fence to bring us back to the start.

2.2km Bristol Trail Loop Clockwise Starting at Cemetery Parking Lot

DJK32851 (2).jpg
the signs might help you find your way...or not


I want to share these trails, so if you are unsure of anything, get in touch with me and we can probably make it work for you. Feel free to meet me anywhere along the way for company (my times are estimates).

Trailrunning is a beautiful way to change up your run training, but it will pay off to remember that you are likely to get your feet soaked and get dirty. I usually plan to have my shoes out of service a day or two, while they dry.

Happy Running!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center