Road to Steemfest 3 (part 4): Three 'fun' facts about me

The fourth installment of in my #roadtosteemfest series, the brain-child of @anomadsoul as he encourages attendees to write about their journey along the way and give the people they will meet a chance to get to know them.

If you missed the first three posts, you can catch up here 1, 2, 3, if you wish.


title.png
Smile on a cycle


This week the topic is 'three fun facts about me'. Should be easy enough..... 15 minutes in front of the laptop thinking about what to write, I took a trip to discord to ask a friend if what I had in mind was a 'fact'. I'm not going to tell you the fact i shared. The response was:

No one wants to hear that story
No one
It’s not that hard
If we were on the phone and I said tell me something about yourself.. what would you say?

Thanks! Let me try again....

1) I'm left-handed (and left-footed)

Yep. Fun huh? It is if you watch me try to use a pair of scissors, less so if what I'm cutting is of any importance to you. I'm not sure how old I was when someone told me that you could buy left-handed scissors, that would have made school and Art class a bit more bearable perhaps.

Left-handed scissors have the blades reversed so the top blade is always on the left so that you can see your cutting line and the natural squeezing action of your hand pushes the blades together so they can cut like a guillotine rather than pushing them apart so the paper bends between the blades. source

There you go Mrs Edwards and Mr Archer, this is my excuse for being so crap at crafts.

While we are on the subject of right handed tools, don't get me to peel anything or open tin cans - I will break your can opener in no time. I play golf right-handed, Tennis is left, Cricket is both, left and right - undecided in the crease. Football is all left side, but don't be in the way if catch one properly :)


2) I'm a bit deaf in my right ear

In what seems like a lifetime ago, I fell of a motorbike on the Island of Koh Phangan in the south of Thailand. Pretty fortunate to be here really, no helmet and some pretty fierce rocks and drops all around. As it turns out, I got away lightly with a fractured hand and skull. Not that i knew this for a week or so, but stuff was aching and my ears were ringing.

When I finally went to the hospital on the bigger island close by, the right side of my face had stopped working completely, i couldn't even close my eye - not good, and certainly not good in tropical climates. Don't worry though, after a week or so of 3 meals a day (menu provided the day prior), plenty of Thai face massages, and some face electrocution to stimulate the nerves, things were much better.


img056.jpg
"The doctor said he would have me on my feet in two weeks."
"And did he?"
"Yes, I had to sell the car to pay the bill."

However, the ringing in my right ear has never stopped. And if you wish to speak to me in a noisy place, you'll notice i'll want my left ear to be closer to your mouth. If there is a lot of background noise, I'll have my finger in my right ear, but overall I think this is a small price to pay for what may have happened. Anyway, left ear in the the club, and I'll take a beer, thank you.


3) I used to be Blonde

When I was born, my hair was very dark brown. I learnt this about 20 minutes ago as this post is being typed as I chat with Mum. A few months later, it looked more like the colour shown in the photo below and then over the next decade or so, changed slowly to a dark brown. Yeah OK, for completeness, it's now going grey - but I am 40 in December!



Asher, circa 1981

Blondes have more fun apparently, so this must be a fun fact!? Got there in the end :)


Bonus fact

This is me!



Kawarau Bridge Bungy, New Zealand

And I've also jumped out of a perfectly functional airplane. That was a crazy week, and these are two unforgettable events. Anyone else done a bungy jump or skydive?


Well I hope the above is something to mention if the conversations around Steem dry up in November - which, based on last years experience, I highly doubt they will. There is just some time before bed now in which i'll go check out the #roadtosteemfest tag and hopefully find some fun facts to enjoy.

Have a nice day/night everyone,

Asher

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now