Whitechapel - The series - Season 1 - Review

I binge-watched this last night.


Source

I was curious to see what all the fuss was about and I finally sat down to watch it for myself.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1186356/episodes?season=1&ref_=tt_eps_sn_1

'Not disappointed' is not enough.

I enjoyed the way the series not only followed the Whitechapel murders committed by Jack The Ripper more than a century ago, but added a murder not included in the 'Canonical 5' (the five murders attributed to Jack The Ripper).

The writers also gave good reason to throw out one of the final murders - but I'm not going to tell you any more about that because this is not a spoiler-laden review

I also liked some of the effects used in the cinematography, it added to the tension and 'olde-worlde' feel. Almost taking the viewer back a century.

The acting, as you'd expect from a top-notch television series, was excellent and thoroughly believable. I could get behind the rancour the detectives felt at a new and inexperienced boss being forced on them.

Overall, the show kept me engaged and interested enough to keep watching and to keep clicking the next one.

Only three episodes in the first season, just right in my opinion.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center