A genuine mother daughter relationship and my thoughts on Lady Bird

Greta Gerwig's Beautiful coming of age drama


First and foremost I am not a movie critique or an expert about film making I just wanted to share my thoughts on this spectacular film and this will be my first movie review.

This movie is praised by a lot of critics and had a lot of buzz on the academy awards yes before this movie was nominated I heard this from one of my favourite critics and was intrigued by it. This was Greta Gerwig's directorial debut but she has seven screenplays to her name so she is not an amateur of this kind of craft.

The movie took place in the early 2000's in Sacramento about a girl name Christine (Saoirse Ronan) or as preferred to be called by her created nickname "Ladybird", she and mother named Marion (Laurie Metcalf) rarely are on the same page and argue most the time, Christine wants to go Universities in New York while her mother insists that she stays in Sacramento although she's reluctant to stay in Sacramento and find the city dull, she was put by her parents in a Girls Catholic school where she had a friend and love story, drama problems but I only see that as an obstacle to a teen at her stage, but nevertheless this movie focuses on its love story between mother and daughter and how they struggled to show that they love one another.

Yet what's enticing about this film is the setting giving the fact that I love classic themed films (yes early 2000's is now a classic era) like Stephen Chbosky's Perks of Being a wallflower (2012) and Netflix TV show Stranger Things (2016-) but mostly the coming of an age of a young adolescent like most of us experienced being a nagging, dorky teen. Saoirse performance is stellar and how I love her when I first saw her on the Grand Budapest Hotel (2014) she is really good at picking her scripts and I really like the movies she's in ever since, Laurie Metcalf's is so real that I could even see my mother on her performance because that's how I see it when it really hit me in the end when Ladybird left Sacramento and finally realized how much she misses and see's the beauty of her home town and starts calling herself her given name Christine and calls to tell her mom that she loves her, I see that myself when I left High school when I finally got to College and how much I missed high school and how beautiful it was.

I guess things are beautiful until you realized that a certain moment is no longer with us I want you guys to savor every moment you have and enjoy every second of it although this is not related to the film it is more like a share of thought how I experienced things I missed that are somewhat never to be experienced again.

Thank you for reading my article, review or whatever you may call it. Sorry if it's kind of shabby but I will do this consistently until I am more refined in my writing skills or articulating my thoughts also if you are an art fanatic check out my blogs and tell me if you do art because I will follow you and resteem your illustrations.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center