Supergirl Season 4 Finale: 'The Quest For Peace' Review

[SPOILER ALERT! Beware of Spoilers from this episode]

supergirl-season-4-episode-22-review-the-quest-for-peace.jpg

This episode was both overwhelming and underwhelming at the same time, but it did leave us with a cool cliffhanger for Fall's Crisis on Infinite Earths! The other cliffhanger though... that was meh. I mean, why on Earth would the Monitor bring back J'onn's brother and why is he murderous? I guess the showrunners meant the mystery to be thrilling, but I felt it fell far off the mark. Even Brainy's 'I love you' to Dreamer didn't have the import it should have had, maybe because she didn't seem to hear it, when she obviously did. And when, when, WHEN did Lex become so sentimental? Felt really out of character for the villain.

Other parts went as expected: the fight between James and Lockwood, the death of Red Daughter (which I thought was quite contrived, to be honest), and Lena's discovery of Kara's secret identity. I loved the fact that Lex seemed genuinely surprised that Supergirl was alive. Guess he'd placed too much expectation on his own Kryptonian. However, he spent way too much time dying. I can't be the only one who thought that was weird, can I?

Supergirl-Season-4-Episode-22-Image-5.jpg

And I have to say, I was super disappointed that he was killed. After all his machinations and the fact that we barely saw him thoughout the season, I expected him to be a fuller villain next season. Perhaps this is why that cliffhanger seems so great. Still, we weren't exactly shown what the Monitor did to his body, so maybe I'm just getting my hopes up. I remember him telling Oliver back during the crossover that the giving of a life must be balanced by the taking of another. If that's the case, then whose life will balance off Lex's return? Oh well... that's a discussion for another post.

By the end of the episode, National City and the entire US is back to being alien tolerant again, which was the real win. That stunt with the power of press? That was awesome. The one instance where Lex's ego blinded him to the ability of the people to think for themselves was used against him, and it worked like a charm. All in all, it was a good end to a great season.

And the final cliffhanger. Eve Tessmacher had not been working all on her own afterall. She'd had a group, an organization behind her. Leviathan.

And now, Leviathan is Coming.


What's your view of the episode and the season in general? Let's hear in the comments!


Upvote, Comment, Resteem

Follow me @petermarie

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center