I returned my iMac Pro because it is just expensive Junk!

356AE5D4-B913-464F-AA56-18355BCBC54B.jpeg

About a week ago I was able to pick up my iMacPro which I had ordered the day it came out.

$5600 for a desktop thanks to crypto fortune

The price of the iMac Pro is absolutely rediculous. I normally would spend $2500 on a desktop which already is insane given that most gaming PC cost around $1k.

However I have bought several PCs and laptops in the last few months looking for a machine that works for me and all including a $4500 laptop had to be returned.

So I ended up buying a $4k MacBook Pro to be delighted with the device overall until I play a game. Thr GPU has about as much power as an 80 year old grandma.

So I was delighted to finally get a chance to buy a machine from apple that supplosedly has a decent GPU.

Below is the spec and price of my order. Holy wowzi!

7714EF24-DE94-4B59-9E4D-B8D020A3DA5F.jpeg

I was even more delighted that I could say “I don’t give a F$&#%K” to the price because unlike a year ago it does not make a scratch into my bottom line any more. THANK YOU CRYPTO I LOVE YOU!!!!!

what a beautiful product

When I installed the iMac it was a very joyful experience. The machine is georgeous and all you have to do is plug it in and everything works right and looks pretty. It is pure luxury.

I have never had a computer this zippy and at first I was enchanted by this product.

The bad surprise

So now I was ready to test its power. I installed WOT (world of tanks) a game that runs natively on the Mac.

The game ran slow and had graphical issues. In the picture below the bright white parts are supposed to be water.
. 11C9B33D-788D-4C2F-AE4D-981E2A66FA01.jpeg

So I installed Windows via bootcamp. Again an amazing experience and super easy. However trying to put the GPU to work in a game was impossible. I installed doom and could barely get 2 FPS.
B0B37CF1-375F-425A-A0C1-B0D2667C40C6.jpeg

I installed Call of Duty and could not get the game to run even.
B02018BE-01B5-419D-B875-0E229568E0D8.jpeg

I spend 1/2 a day trying to find a solution in case this was a driver issues. I could not find any better drivers and ended up making it even worse with my updates to the effect that I had to re-install bootcamp.

In addition I started to see flickereing and other issues even when just operating the mac.

could not even change the payment option

When i picked up the product I wanted to apply a discount code and pay with cash. But even that was not possible. My only option was to return the entire thing or use the CC from my online order.

conclusion

I think the problems are likely temporarly only. Most of my issues will be fixed with updadet drivers but:

  • my device had other issues as well. Why was my screen flickering?
  • the GPU is slow. In other bencharks my GPU that I added for $600 is like as fast as a 1070NVIDIA card, which is the cheap GPU we find in those $1k gaming pcs. Thats not cool. I am happy to pay but I want top performance. Paying top $ for medium stuff is not cool.
  • why is apple not using NVIDIA and instead some junk GPU. This is the newest chip from AMD and it performs worse than a 1 year old 1080. Common!
    -WTF I cant change my payment option in the store.

So overall a very bad experience and not something I am used to from apple. So the iMac had to go back. I will re-evaluate in a little while and buy it again if apple fixes the driver issues.

Here are some other links that confirm my experience:

http://appleinsider.com/articles/18/01/06/watch-5k-gaming-on-an-imac-pro/amp/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center