Question to the gamers pt. 10 (I need some help)

Like I mentioned earlier one of my goals is to create an old school game, I was supposed to add some concept art, but I wanted to ask you some questions first. I regrettably just blew my budget buying some rpg makers to make some prototypes, but I'm planning to put a lor more into the game.

The basic idea is that you are a computer virus who wants to consume the entire internet, it's supposed to be a combination of an rpg and a good old fashioned sidescroller. Imagine you start off as a pixel, eating your way up, uppgrading yourself in the process, being able to completely modify every aspect of your character while leveling up, plus learning every tecnique you've ever seen in a sidescroller.
The first and most important question is: What do you look back to with horror thinking av\bout 2d games, I want to make this game a neverender, that gets extremely hard when you get into it, testing your skill and waking up some childhood trauma.
The goal is supposed that it wil be a good old fashioned splitscreen game with the possibility to play online. You can btw use any medium to remind me of childhood horrors: pics, movies it's all good.
And last question: Do you know of some decent cheap software or freeware you can use to design some of the game, like I said, it's gonna be 2d, It will however be a huge 2d game.
If you're interested in helping, my e-mail is norgesarkaden@gmail.com.
Thank you for reading :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now