Of Atari Boxes and Dystopian Hell Holes

The Atari Box and Dystopian Hell Holes / Why You Should Keep Low Expectations for the Atari Box

I have my reasons for being skeptical that Atari is serious getting back into gaming. The Atari CEO said that the new Atari Box will have classic content and new content.  It will even have internet access. 

Sega released a flashback console that also contained new games and the new games all sucked. 

What makes me skeptical of this console is the timing of all this.  It looks like a money grab due to the new Blade Runner coming out.


Blade Runner

If you have never seen the original Blade Runner starring Harrison Ford, do yourself a favor and go see it. One thing you'll notice is that the iconic Atari logo is seen lit up in the Japanese city throughout the movie. This makes sense, because in my imagined dystopian hell hole, Atari is the only surviving video game company.

I do love the movie. So much so that I drew this picture inspired by the both the movie and my love for retrogaming.

But there in lies my concern for the Atari Box. The sequel of Blade Runner comes out October 6 of this year (Harrison Ford is back too!). And in the trailer, the first thing you will see is the iconic Atari logo.

So would Atari still be creating the Atari Box if Hollywood didn't green light the Blade Runner sequel? It's possible this is just a coincidence but I doubt it. The movie created the opportunity for Atari. They are already hawking the merchandise. You can buy this hat while you wait for the movie and the Atari Box to come out. atari-speaker-hat.jpg

Now that doesn't mean Atari won't make a good product. I just don't expect them to compete with the Nintendo Switch. Classic Atari games will be loaded up on the box. If they gave us Atari Jaguar games with online multi player and capped the price at $100.00 I think this is a win for the retro gaming community. Most of us, myself included, have never played the Atari Jaguar and it's insanely expensive now. I know most of the Atari Jaguar games probably suck, but I still want to play them. What are the Steem Communities thoughts on this?

atari-jaguar.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center