How far does a religious person have to go to appease their god?

I don’t usually get into politics and/or religion but I’ve just seen a post on Facebork.

Someone posted on their Facebork page:

This is why I’m NOT that sad about George Michael’s sudden death. He chose a lifestyle to mock and slap God in the face. You reap what you sow. I fully expect a mass exodus of people who either practice homosexuality or their sympathizers because I do not share their opinions. I also expect many to not read this post through and only get half the story – your loss. While I don’t hate such people as a person, I do have to hate their unholy and unnatural lifestyle choice. As a Christian I have to love what God loves and hate what God hates. There’s no sitting on the fence about this life or death issue.

I’m not naming the person that wrote it, I’m not sharing the post on Facebork either. I think they have removed the offending post. I happened to see what appears to be a screengrab of the post.

This person is an Australian author and has a few books out. This kind of thing is tantamount to career suicide.

Why on earth anyone’s sexuality has anything to do with anyone else is beyond me.

I have no interest in what happens in someone else’s bedroom (bathroom, kitchen, garage…) and I’m pretty sure any supreme deity has so much on their plate that sexual frolics must come way down their list of important things to smite people for. For example, hurting others – including animals.

The part of the quote that REALLY gets me is this:

As a Christian I have to love what God loves and hate what God hates. There’s no sitting on the fence about this life or death issue.

While that may be correct according to Christianity (I’m not certain that’s the case, but for this, let’s say it is), religion is practicing your belief according to the rules of that religion. It is most certainly NOT a case of – I practice this and therefore, that means YOU have to, too.

I’ll say it again:

That's against MY religion, so I can't do it.

It really is as simple as being on a diet and expecting everyone else to leave off cake too.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center