RELIGIOUS FISH IN THE AQUARIUM

I was a fish in an aquarium. In the aquarium we have our own set of beliefs, disciplines, and rules for fish. Yes, most of the rules sound and smell fishy, but they are rules we were ready to die for. It is an ecosystem that we have to adhere with or else something would happen. We are told that we are the best because are the "chosen fish." We have the sole right to the blessings endowed to a fish and those outside the aquarium stink. That belief created a fishy arrogance in us and and we look at other fish condescendingly.
One day, the owner of the aquarium got tired of the monthly maintenance- changing waters, putting solutions, and feeding the arrogant fish. He decided to tear it down because it no longer pleases him. Fortunately, I was thrown to the ocean of possibilities. I swam and I noticed that are no boundaries. I no longer bump my fish head to the glass. Oh ! It was so freeing and liberating.
I saw different kinds of fish in the ocean. I saw a weird looking fish. He has been fasting for many days. His name is Gandhi. He is a compassionate and a non-violent fish. I also saw in the same school Mother Teresa, a charitable fish, who is feeding the hungry fish in Calcutta. I also saw in the ocean Nelson Mandela, the forgiving fish. He was jailed by his enemies for 20 years and when he came out, he forgave them all and gave them positions in his school . Wow! He is Christ-like minded. I also saw a fish by the name of John Paul II. He visited in jail the fish who shot him and granted him forgiveness. He also visited a mosque in Syria and hugged the Moslem fish. His message to the ocean is - we are all the same fish. We are brothers and sisters. I also saw Francis I in his very simple and frugal life as a fish. There is no hollywood in him. Plain and simple.
Suddenly, I thought about the aquarium. How come the fish in my aquarium are filled with hatred and violence? Maybe because we are the "chosen fish." The fish that I saw in the ocean also have their own beliefs, rules, and ethics. But they never thought that they are the chosen fish and other fish are bad and will not be saved. Their message is only about love, brotherhood, and forgiveness. In the first place, ALL FISH ARE CREATED EQUAL. The problem is SOME FISH BELIEVE THAT THEY ARE MORE EQUAL THAN OTHER FISH.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center