DEAR CHRISTIAN,

20171011154031.jpg

Dear Christian, are you searching for a little property

Earthly treasures, perhaps a little more money

Yet neglecting lost souls?

Then beware lest you ruin your own soul with such worldly goals

Do you say "I thought you knew it all?

We lived together; I thought you knew about Jesus and God’s salvation call"

Well I have bad news for you; I didn't, I must confess

I didn't suppose you believed the Jesus you professed or I'll say tried to profess

You didn't even act as if you yourself believed in Him, not even a little

Are you going to Heaven?

Congratulations then brethren

Well I'm going down to Hell and you can't help me now that I'm dead

You'll sometimes think of me and all the good times we shared

As you see the dark smoke of my burning body

Rising athwart the glorious Heavens and all its beauty

After I've been there a very long time in torment and weeping,

You'll sometimes think that I,

Who once lived and walked by your side, am there suffering

Oh! Remember that you cannot pray for me there or ask why

But you will remember that once you might have warned me

And might have saved me with just one salvation plea

But you didn't!

(A poem based on a statement by Charles Finney)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center