ReggaeSteem Sound Clash Entry: Many Rivers to Cross - Jimmy Cliff with Jools Holland

I'm in the ReggaeSteem Sound Clash and I'd like to win :) Please let me have your votes and comments (BFF, promise)!

Source: Youtube Many Rivers to Cross - Jimmy Cliff with Jools Holland.

Jimmy Cliff was one of those singers that formed the backdrop to my young days. Always there, so many songs. I was really pleased to see him perform Many Rivers to Cross on Later with Jools Holland a while ago. This live version, arguably the best of several recordings floating around truly ... "[m]akes the hairs in my neck stand up every single time" (Daniel Roberts in the comments)

I love the haunting, heartrending lyrics and phrasing ... "My woman left me and she didn't say why" ... The combination of sadness, frustration and despair with hope and redemption, sung here with incredible passion. Written and recorded by Jimmy in 1969, this performance was from 2008 when he was sixty. Fabulous!

Cliff stated he wrote the song due to the trouble he was having making it as a successful musical artist after originally finding success in his home of Jamaica, beginning at age 14, before moving to the United Kingdom. He commented, "When I came to the UK, I was still in my teens. I came full of vigor: I’m going to make it, I’m going to be up there with the Beatles and the Stones. And it wasn’t really going like that, I was touring clubs, not breaking through. I was struggling, with work, life, my identity, I couldn't find my place; frustration fueled the song." Telegraph, 2012

For any of my friends who have inadvertently wandered over from Twitter, welcome to ReggaeSteem, celebrating global reggae culture. ReggaeSteem is a tribe built on the Steem Blockchain - the blockchain of opportunity where you can grow and shape communities. It's dead easy to get an account at Steem Ninja or I can provide you with a free account and some delegation to get you going - just get in touch.

ReggaeSteem Sound Clash - Add Your Entry

ReggaeSteem Sound Clash where you can win #jahm. Here's the challenge post if you would like to take part.


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center