Late Arrivals and Lost Time: My Thoughts on Punctuality

Tardiness is one of my biggest pet peeves, and the past two days have been driving me crazy. Parent-Teacher Conferences started this week, and on Thursday, I had eight scheduled meetings.

Per our contract, each conference is supposed to be 15 minutes long, but I gave myself a 20-minute window to make sure I had time to get my materials together between meetings.

My first meeting of the day was scheduled for 7:40 a.m., but the parents didn’t show up until 7:50. Then they were frustrated when we only had 10 minutes to talk since class starts at 8.

PXL_20240914_070833380.jpg

The school day went smoothly, and as I prepared for the after-school meetings, the first set of parents arrived right on time at 1:10, perfect start! The next meeting was scheduled for 1:30, but those parents didn’t show up until 1:35, which pushed things closer to the next appointment. Luckily, the 1:50 meeting was on time. But then, the parents for my 2:10 and 2:30 meetings both showed up 10 minutes late!

While it didn’t add much extra time to my workday—I only left about 10 minutes late—it was still frustrating. Growing up, I was always taught that being punctual is a sign of respect. And if I was ever running late, I was expected to notify the person I was meeting.

The parents who showed up late had already picked up their kids when school was dismissed, so it was a bit annoying that they were still late to a meeting an hour later. The family that was a few minutes late for the 1:30 meeting particularly bothered me because the meeting was only 20 minutes after the time of school finishing.

There have been a few times when lateness really stood out to me, but one instance in particular comes to mind. My wife and I were traveling in Taiwan and had plans to meet family for dinner. We arrived on time, as did her uncle and aunt, and we were all waiting for a few more family members, another set of aunts, uncles, and cousins. They ended up arriving an hour late, but acted like nothing was wrong. They greeted everyone casually, with no apologies or even an explanation for why they were late.

As this was all occurring it felt like my face was turning red my blood pressure was coming I felt like my brain was going to explode not because they're late that was frustrating but the disregard for the fact that we have been sitting there waiting for them for so long not to offer an explanation not even to say sorry was just the most frustrating thing ever to me.

I’m curious, how do you all feel about punctuality? Does it bother you when people are consistently late, or are you more relaxed about it?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center