State of my referrals

This post is a little update on how I am doing with various on-line referral schemes. I have played around with these for years, but they have not provided me with as much income as I had hoped. Passive income that just rolls in is the dream, but I think it requires some work to make that happen. With any of these the amount you earn has to be related to the value of a new user to the service and with many of those that is not a lot.

I got into WowApp via some of the people on the Tsu social site as a chat app we could use between us. It has an ad-funded rewards system. I know some people were making dollars a month through building a referral network in the thousands, but I have far fewer and just make a few cents each week. It is not a bad app and you can do surveys or play games to earn something if you have the time, but nobody I communicate with is using it these days. They have an online shopping refferal scheme that is something like Quidco that I use. You need at least a dollar to make a withdrawal, but that can take me months, so I have previously donated to some of the charities they support when I reach that.

WowApp

@lloyddavis made me aware of Manna (previous Grantcoin) a couple of years back. It is a guaranteed income scheme so that anyone can earn something. If you sign up you get allocated some Manna each week. At the current price that may only be a couple of cents each week. Through referrals you can increase that. Like some of the others I may as well just let it accumulate and maybe it will be worth something when I need some money. I've given some away and may do so again if I find some good causes who can use it. They are on Steem as @mannacurrency.

Manna

I think I signed up to Presearch via @the-bitcoin-dood. It is a search portal that lets you use lots of different engines, including their own. You earn 0.25 PRE for each search and 1 PRE is about 2.4c right now. You get 25 PRE for each referral, but those people need to use it for at least sixty days and accumulate 100 PRE of their own before you get paid. None of the people I have referred has reached the minimum amount and so I have to assume they are not using it. They also have a 1000 PRE minimum before you can withdraw. I think these limits are designed to discourage fraud as it would be easy to create fake accounts, but then they actually have to be used and they are probably looking out for suspicious behaviour. I still use it as I like the option of using different search engines. You can select from a wide range to have those you want on the main page.

Presearch

I expect everyone has at least heard of Steem Monsters. I have been playing the game quite a bit after being given a starter pack code at Steemfest. I have spent a few dollars in Steem on further cards. Their referral scheme pays 5% on any pack purchases. I only have one referral in @the-bitcoin-dood who tends to buy a $2 pack each week. I will keep pushing this as it is a good way to get more people onto Steem.

Just today I heard about a new Steem-based game called @drugwars. I signed up via a link from @bozz, but there's some issue with the game in that I cannot get past selecting a player. I would hope this is being worked on.
Here's my link in case you want to have a look.

I am also on the Minds social site, but do not really use it as I never got much interaction. I may have joined it before Steem came along as I was looking at other options when Tsu died. Minds does seem to attract people with extreme views, but then we like freedom. I just do not find enough content that makes me want to come back every day. You get tokens for using it, but I have no idea of their value outside the site. Unlink Steem they just have the one site and do not seem to have other dapps.

Eobot is not something I will really encourage you to get into. It is a cloud mining service. I got into it when I was still playing around with various cryptocurrency faucets and realising that was never going to make me much. I did try getting referrals on the faucets with little success. I invested what little crypto I had acquired into Eobot and set it mining. I did actually take a few Steem out of it until they raised the withdrawal threshold, and I think I used some Steem I had made here to buy a little more mining capacity. Originally the contracts were for five years, but it got to a point where you would not make your money back in that time, so they extended it to ten. Eventually their hardware was just not able to keep up and so they shut down the mining. People were able to get some of their money out, but I never had that much in there. They have now upgraded their hardware, so you can mine again, but the payback is still over five years. I have quite a few referrals from whom I can make 1% of what they mine, but that is only going to be cents each month. I can leave that running, but I do not plan to invest any more funds into it. It is enlightening that they say "Cloud mining should be considered as a fun, recreational activity and not a source of income or investment". Well that is how I am treating it.

Finally there is Wirex, which is a debit card you can load up with cryptocurrency and also use it to buy crypto using funds from other bank accounts. I had a Bitwalla card before that offered similar services until Visa shut them (and other services) down. Bitwalla may be back now, but Wirex is still working for me. They keep adding more coins to it, but not Steem yet. You earn Bitcoin when you use the card in stores, but not on-line at about 0.5%. Their referral scheme pays you $5 in Bitcoin when someone buys $100 in crypto and another $5 when they use the card, but it Is not clear if that has to be a single transaction and if you only get the second payout after the crypto purchase. I have had notifications that several people have signed up using my link, but I have not received any of these extra bonuses yet. They have a non-obvious Steem account at @communitymanager, but it just seems to post their news items.

Wirex

So, in summary, I am only making cents each week from these combined. It's no big deal as I do okay from Steem and I have a job to pay the bills. I expect others are much better at playing the referral game and have money pouring in, but I'm not complaining.

Feel free to post your own referral links in comments.

Steem on!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency