Recumbent Trikes – Cycling “rewired”

I’ve had back pain for many years. In 2012, I had a laminectomy at T5, but I still have frequent bouts of sciatica. My back, hip and leg muscles are just tight and cranky – especially when I overdo. I’ve tried many things to soothe this condition and sometimes I’m even successful. But, that’s for another blog.

Today’s blog is actually about the freedom I’ve felt since purchasing a Trident, Stowaway II Recumbent Trike. Due to my colic-y back, I actually thought I would have to give up cycling. I used to be a very avid rider and even completed a few Triathlons in my time. But in recent years, I found that cycling was causing me more discomfort than it was worth. Just the thought of dangling my sensitive hips and legs from a sleek narrow bicycle seat is enough to send shockwaves of pain all the way down to my toes.

So when these cool trikes first started appearing on the streets of Pinellas County, Florida where I live, I sat up and took notice. Not only did they provide an opportunity for exercise in the great outdoors – they also looked like a LOT OF FUN! I did have some experience with recumbent bikes. I rented a regular, two-wheel recumbent bike several years ago while visiting Portland, OR. I enjoyed it, but I found it took a certain knack to get my legs up over the bike while picking up enough speed to get my balance. Once I was up and riding, it was fine but sooner or later, I would have to stop and put my feet down only to have to go through the process all over again as I restarted. But not so with a TRIKE! And the seat looked so comfortable! It was almost like sitting in a lounge chair at the beach and everyone from Florida LOVES that!!20191020_163526.jpg

I knew I had to learn more - so I quickly started doing my research. I soon found there were several brand names that were popular and put out a good product. I narrowed the field down to Catrike, Terra Trike and Trident as they seemed to be most popular and all very well-made. I knew by the price tag that I would want to try to buy used. I also wanted to find one within a few mile radius of my home, so I could ride it home or else I would have to pay someone to get it delivered. Prices can really vary throughout different areas of the country. Of course, sales tax and delivery charges also have to be figured into the price. Turns out, I found a nice bright, red Trident Stowaway only 2 miles from my home and near the bike trail. The Stowaway has the added feature of folding over in half for easier transport or storage. Tridents all come with rear racks, a full set of 3 fenders, a safety flag, pedals, a rear light, and a mirror which already results in a savings of approximately $400. This one also had a trunk bag already mounted on the rear rack and pedal clips as well. It was a good find!

I was definitely right about the “fun factor”! The bike looks very impressive going down the street. I love the red – Wolfpack Red - which combined with yellow lettering and black fenders makes my trike look like a fire-engine. It really turns heads! Whenever I go out with this bike, people ask me about it and comment on how great looking it is. The “tadpole” style (two-wheels in the front) is distinctive and I like that I can judge the width of my bike easily. It’s very comfortable to ride in the recumbent position and the seat has just enough padding – too much would reduce air flow through the mesh and make it too hot for the Florida climate. My back did not sweat excessively as I feared it might and I was very happy about that! The position of the shifters and steering mechanisms really takes a load off the arms and shoulders as compared to traditional cycles. Who hasn’t suffered from numbness in their hands and forearms during a long ride? Trident uses an indirect steering method that is easy and responsive It feels like power-steering even at slower speeds. Pedal clips are highly recommended on recumbent trikes, not only to secure your foot on the pedal, but also to provide pull on the pedal upstroke. I found the pedaling on the recumbent to be very easy and smooth – mainly due to not having to remove my feet from the pedals when I was stationary. The shifting is easy – just exactly like shifting an upright bicycle. The Trident has 27 speeds (3x9) so it's easy to find a gear for every terrain variation.

By no means am I an expert on recumbent trikes. While shopping around a bit, I did get to try out a Terra Trike, a Catrike and 2 Tridents. They all seemed about the same as far as quality and fun-factor. But my Wolfpack Red Trident Stowaway just seemed to fit me best and I liked the folding feature. I'm still not convinced that I can stow it in the trunk of my Hyundai Elantra, but I can save a bit of space in my garage and that's a plus. I did find out that there is a such a thing as a Recumbent Cycle-Con that takes place each year in Nashville, TN in October. I found my tribe! Who knows what the future holds, but for now, buying this recumbent trike was a great experience. My first few rides have been a huge success. I can't wait to get out there again and again to enjoy the sunshine!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now