The big kid in me Part 3, The Mighty Mini - RC Cars

Here's part 3 of the 'The big kid me me' series where I talk about the various RC cars I own. So far the series has been in chronological order but from here in it's a little more random.

Here are my previous posts...

The big kid in me Part 1, the very beginning - RC Cars
The big kid in me Part 2, the Tamiya Ford F350 - RC Cars

Today we move onto the Mighty Mini, a great British classic car. I've loved the full sized versions since I was a nipper as my mum had one called Poppy (due to it's colour). It had hydrolastic suspension which had seem better days and so one of the wheels used to rub when taking corners. It used to sound like the car was chuckling at you mid corner.

As you can see from the pictures my model mini has been well used. This is what happens to a model mini when you get into club racing with another bunch of model mini lovers.

DSCF0437.jpg

DSCF0439.jpg

The paint scheme was inspired by Mr Bean's mini from the comedy TV show.

This started life as a Tamiya M05 chassic but due to it being a nightmare (handling was terrible and it was a nightmare to maintain), some new parts were purchased to turn it into an older style M03 variant. I won't bore you with the pictures so will save you a game of spot the difference; the key being simplicity. Although cheap to buy I think I've spent the same again in new suspension components (aluminium instead of plastic), and various other bits 'n' bobs. The key being to add a little more strength while not increasing the weight too much.

I can't find any decent length videos of races but here's a 30 second example from Leighton Buzzard Model Car Club where I used to race.

As you can see it's a massive game of (unintentional) bumper cars for some .... I was one of them as I wasn't very good. Loads of fun though.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center