RAW feeding pets?! As in, raw MEAT?! Yes!!

Hey guys! So, what do you feed your cats? Or dogs, for that matter?

 
P1060913.jpg

This is Spooky. She's a rescue cat, and ex-stray. She lives the life of luxury, and a couple months ago, I switched her, her 'sister' Squeaky, and the dog they tolerate, Pepper, over to raw feeding.

I have heard about raw feeding many times before. Actually, I learned about it at least 7-8 years ago, maybe more. The idea of feeding my pets raw meat, however, was gross, and I never could give it a try. However, in recent years, Pepper has come down with more and more food allergies, and the idea of feeding raw kept popping its head up. Many people do this for their pets with great success. I finally 'bit the bullet', so to speak, and gave it a try.

P1060930.jpg

It took a little 'getting used to' for them. I had to mix raw meat bits into their regular food. At first they were reluctant, but over time, they came to LOVE it, and now eagerly await their mealtimes. Now, I won't go into all the details of the diet just yet. When I get some fresh meat, and take some pictures, then I'll probably do another post with more info, but for now, I thought I would open up discussion about raw feeding. I buy things that I can find on clearance, or things that are cheap to begin with. Chicken gizzards, livers, hearts and feet are a good start, chopped up discounted pork, ground turkey, etc. Home grown meat is even better, of course. Raw eggs are delectable for them. It's actually not as expensive as I thought it would be. More expensive than feeding cheapo grocery store dry kibble, but about the same cost as higher-quality food. Even cheaper if you find things on sale...

It's only been a couple months, but so far I have definitely noticed a difference in the health of the animals.


Pepper, although not completely allergy-free, is doing MUCH better now. The cats both have shinier fur, look sleeker and healthier in general, and best of all, their poop doesn't stink! Haha, well, you know, poop stinks, but before going raw, you could absolutely tell when they had just used the litterbox; it STUNK for about 10min before the deodorizers in the litter kicked in. Now it never smells like cat poop, AND they poop less often, due to not being fed fillers that their body can't utilize. I don't know about you, but anyone out there with a litterbox to clean can appreciate this!

P1050999.jpg


So, how about it?! What do you feed your carnivores? Do you raw feed? Do you make cooked homemade food? (I used to!) Are you content with kibble? Let me know what you think in the comments!

page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for reading! As usual, I hope your day is the best! ♥

page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png


Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center