Raspberry Pi - Temperature and Humidity sensor

Last week I have played around with a temperature sensor. For this I have ordered a AM2302 (= wired DHT22) which can be found on amazon:

All I had to do is wire it up to the raspberry pi correctly.

To set it up I have used this tutorial. I had to fix minor changes like the ip address of the script. Also I put the location of the files output files to /tmp/ because the sensor values are written every second and I wanted to protect the SSD card.

As a result I got a website providing a chart of my humidity and temperature:

As you can see my room is way under the humidity value it should be.The warmer the room is the less humidity is in the air. Cold air can store much more water.

It's interessting to see what happens when I open the window:

As you can see first the humidity leaves instantly the room which makes me wonder whether first the cold air with water gets out. After that the temperature drops slowly.

It is also interessting to see what happens when I shower. The temperature always drops first very fast and only for a short time. Meanwhile the humidity goes up very fast and recovers slowly to the old level:

At last here you can see what happens when I wash my clothes:

Cheers and see you next time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now