What is it that Indian parents are collectively doing wrong?

Mummy, what is balatkaar (rape)?”

Age 9

Flashback

Dad and mom were having the evening tea and watching news on the TV. I was stuffing my face with cream biscuits, when the news reporter said something along these lines:

Mumbai me ek nabalig ladki ka hua balatkaar. Aaropi farar!

“A minor girl got raped in Mumbai. Suspect escaped.”

My little mind was curious. I wanted to know why a girl was shown with her face covered and why they were saying balatkaar word again and again.

“Mummy, what is balatkaar?”

Mom stared at me

Dad stared at me.

Both of them stared at each other, clearly uncomfortable.

“Alu, it is nothing, beta,” mom said.

Dad immediately changed the channel to a cartoon channel where Tom and Jerry was airing.

“See it is your favourite cartoon, Alu!” Dad told me, clearly faking enthusiasm.

And I was immediately engrossed in the cartoon show, forgetting about my curiosity.

Present

My younger sister is 10 year old.

Once, I was teaching her some maths sums. Suddenly, out of blue she asked me something which astonished me.

“Alu didi(sister), what is balatkaar?”

My mother, who was sitting on the sofa, a little far from us, became wide eyed. I could see that she was going to distract my sister from this question just like she did to me.

I said, “When someone touches you in your danger zones or makes you touch their danger zones, it is Balatkaar”

“Danger zones are the part between your legs(genitals), your chest, your bum and your lips,” I explained my sister by showing her the 'danger zones'.

She hummed showing that she understood, but still I could sense curiosity in her.

“What do I do if someone touches my danger zones?” She asked me.

“You scream as loud as you can, then you bite wherever you can and slap. Then run fast and try to get away from them and towards a crowded place, then call us.”

I made her memorize my dad's, mom's and my mobile numbers.

My mom gave me a grateful smile and I hope she finally understood what she did wrong.

Not giving knowledge about rape is what Indian parents are doing wrong. You don't have to explain everything. Just explain as much which can save your child in future.

Most children who were abused, didn't even know what was happening to them. They feel that they are doing something wrong and thus they don't tell their parents.

Safeguard your child against such heinous crime by giving them this knowledge about their danger zones.

“Son/daughter, don't let anyone touch your danger zones.” image

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center