Boomers in the Library

I took almost a week off from blogging over the Christmas holiday, but I'm still here! If that disappoints anyone, GOOD. Time for a pointless rant!

Libraries have been a source of internet access for a long time. When COVID hit, and bureaucracy shifted even more online, we became essential for many without home computers. Not everyone was happy about that. I can understand the communication issues of online vs. face-to-face. However, somehow librarians are expected to teach these cantankerous geriatric luddites how to computer.

"I hate computers!"

Not my problem. Change happens.

"Why isn't my password saved here?"

Because this is not your computer and we don't save your information.

"Where is the internet?"

Sigh...

On one hand, I get it. Doing business online-only does suck, and dealing with security and passwords and whatnot can be a hassle. On the other hand, it's not like people haven't had ample opportunity to visit the library and learn. The computers have been there all along. There are no DOS prompts or terminal commands. It's easy, and once you grasp the usual iconography and layout cues, you can find what you want pretty easily.

Still, I assume in a few decades, I might be grousing about how, "I don't want that goddamned Neuralink implant bullshit, and I can't work these stupid holographic controls!" Y'know, if we avoid nuclear annihilation in the mean time. The boomers somehow managed to not make things actually go boom, after all. If only they could also not shout their private information across the entire building while they hunt-and-peck across the keyboard.

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center