Working on the raised bed for the railroad, part 2

Hello, steemians, and welcome to my page, eh!

This is a continuation of the post I wrote yesterday about working on the raised bed for my 7-1/2 inch gauge railroad. You can read that post here.
https://steemit.com/railroad/@amberyooper/continuing-the-work-on-the-raised-bed-for-my-railroad
In this post, I'll pick up where I left off yesterday with the pictures, now that I have them downloaded from my camera.

After I went and got more materials for the project, I was able to continue working on the sections of raised bed. This is where I had stopped.
DSCN9121.JPG

I put the other board on the section of the bed I was working on, and then filled in the bed with dirt to the level that I wanted it to be. You can see the landscape timbers that I had used to build the last 2 sections of the raised bed last year, I used them because that end is the shallow end and I didn't need to build it up very much. It comes up to ground level at that point.
DSCN9122.JPG

At that point, I was able to put the weed block back down on the bed and start moving the ballast gravel back on top of it.
DSCN9123.JPG

I pulled the couple of sections of track out of the way so that I could just pull the pile of gravel back onto the weed block with the big hoe.
DSCN9124.JPG

Once I had most of the gravel redistributed, I put 2 sections of track back on the gravel. I was going to use the flat car to move the rest of the pile onto the weed block.
DSCN9125.JPG

DSCN9126.JPG

At that point I decided that it made more sense to start moving the gravel off of the next area that I need to dig out and fix. I laid out the piece of weed block that had been on the second section of raised bed and put a couple of track sections on it so that I could move the gravel with my flat car.
DSCN9133.JPG

From there, it was just a matter of shovelling the gravel onto the flat car and dumping it off at the other end.
DSCN9134.JPG

DSCN9135.JPG

I filled up the rest of the finished area with gravel, and then I moved the track sections over on top of the finished sections so that I could pull the weed block back off of the area that I need to dig, and the area that I need to finish filling with dirt.
DSCN9139.JPG

I'm going to use the dirt that I dig from the next section to finish filling the previous section. I still need to put the other board up on that section to finish filling it in, I had left that board off so that I could get the wheelbarrow into the raised bed for filling the section that's now finished.
I'm not sure when I'll get back to this project, we're supposed to have hot muggy weather for the next week, and that doesn't help my motivation very much when it comes to shovel work. For now, this is where the project stands. It's not like there's any hurry to get on with it, it's just one of my hobby projects, and I'm mostly doing it to take the pressure off the fence posts.

That's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

stars divider.png

Thanks for stopping by my page and checking out my post, eh!

As always, feel free to leave a comment or a question if you would like.

May the Steem Force be with you!

amber banner.png
helpie.png
banner2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center