Continuing the work on the raised bed for my railroad

Hello, steemians, and welcome to my page, eh!

The last time I posted about the work on this project was 16 days ago, the post can be read here.
https://steemit.com/railroad/@amberyooper/unintended-concequences

I finished that post with having gotten the new fence post in the ground.
DSCN9039.JPG

The next day, it started raining and rained off and on for the next 4 days, so I didn't get anything done on the project for a while, except to fill the dirt in around the post. The post hole was half full of water when I went to put the dirt on top of the concrete at the bottom of the hole.
DSCN9056.JPG

I shoveled the dirt right into the water and filled up the hole with mud. I figured that it would settle a bit better that way, when it dried out.
DSCN9057.JPG

It was about a week later before I was able to get back to work on the project. I started by putting new boards in to hold the dirt for the raised bed in that section.
DSCN9082.JPG

I had to figure out how to hold the raised bed together without using the fence posts to hole the side, that is what had caused the problem in the first place. I decided to brace the raised bed from the inside instead of the outside. I started by putting a section of treated 4X4 in between the boards and screwing the boards to it with the longest porch board screws that I can get, which are 3-1/2 inches long. These screws are coated for direct contact with treated wood, so they don't rust.
DSCN9083.JPG

DSCN9084.JPG

That was good for bracing the middle, but I still needed to brace the ends of the boards so they wouldn't spread due to the weight of the dirt. The outer board is held on the ends by sections of 4X4s that I put in when I originally built the raised bed, so that side was good, but I needed to brace the ends of the boards on the fence side so they wouldn't put pressure on the fence posts. I decided to use treated 2X4 pieces to tie the ends together. Once that was done, I filled in the dirt between the braces.
DSCN9087.JPG

After getting that section done, I moved on to the next section on the other side of the fence post that I had replaced. I decided to put in new boards for that also. I ended up doing more or less the same thing to that section to brace the boards. Of course, I had to dig the old boards out to put the new boards in.
DSCN9106.JPG

I ended up using the 4X4s for the middle and the far end of this section because there's no post at the far end to hold that end.
DSCN9107.JPG

I added the second board on the fence side of the section to bring the raised bed height up to the level that I wanted.
DSCN9120.JPG

DSCN9121.JPG

That was as far as I got on the raised bed at that point. I needed to go back to the store and get a couple more boards to finish those 2 sections so that I could add the dirt that I wanted to bring the level up enough that I wouldn't need so much ballast gravel to fill the bed up to the height that I wanted.

This will be continued in another post.
That's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

stars divider.png

Thanks for stopping by my page and checking out my post, eh!

As always, feel free to leave a comment or a question if you would like.

May the Steem Force be with you!

amber banner.png
helpie.png
banner2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center