Working on the raised bed for the railroad, part 5

Hello, steemians, and welcome to my page, eh!

In my last post about this project, I talked about finally getting the raised bed put back together, filled in, and ready for the roadbed ballast gravel. You can read about that by following this link.
https://steemit.com/railroad-bed/@amberyooper/working-on-the-raised-bed-for-the-railroad-part-4

Last Saturday turned out to be a good day with no rain, so I hooked up my little trailer and went to the gravel yard to get a load of 3/4 inch rock for the railroad bed. My little trailer will only handle about a half a cubic yard of gravel at a time, the springs are only good enough for about that much weight.

This is the gravel that I wanted to get.
DSCN9883.JPG

Here's the trailer, ready for the load.
DSCN9882.JPG

The gravel yard uses a tractor with a bucket to load the gravel. The bucket holds half a cubic yard, so it's just one scoop.
DSCN9884.JPG

DSCN9885.JPG

DSCN9886.JPG

DSCN9887.JPG

Here's the load, ready to go.
DSCN9890.JPG

The gravel yard is about 4-5 miles from the house, so it's a slow drive back with the full load to take it easy on the springs.
I'm not real good at backing up the trailer, so it took me a few tries to get the trailer where I wanted it for unloading, but I managed to get it close enough to the raised bed to make it easy to shovel the gravel from the trailer directly into the area that I wanted to fill.
DSCN9892.JPG

Then it was just a matter of shoveling it out of the trailer.
DSCN9893.JPG

DSCN9894.JPG

Once I had the gravel in place and leveled out, I wanted to start putting the track panels back down. I only got 1 panel in place because I was starting to run out of daylight by then.
DSCN9895.JPG

In case you might be wondering, the blue tarp is covering the tracks under the tree because the leaves are starting to fall, and it's a lot easier to move the leaves when they're on the tarp rather than trying to rake them out of the gravel and from between the rails.
Hopefully, the next day that without rain that we get, I'll be able to get more track sections back in place. I'd like to think I'll have all the track back in place before it starts to snow, but there's a lot of rain in the forecast for the next couple of weeks, so it's hard to tell what will happen.

Well, that's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post, eh!

amber banner.png
banner helpie.png
steemcreative.png
banner2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center