How to Remove Flies from a Room with a Flashlight

I just figured out this trick last night, and I thought I'd share it, see if it helps others. Ever have some flies in a room, tent, etc., especially if you're trying to sleep, and they're just driving you crazy? Well if you have a flashlight (I used the camera light on my phone) and a couple minutes, and can darken the room, here's a way to get rid of them.

Darken the room, then shine the light slowly about the room. Flies of various types will tend to be attracted to the beam of light. Turn the light slowly down to point to the floor or other flat surface so the surface is brightly lit under your light. Hold the light a foot or two above the surface. The flies will follow the beam of light, and as they begin hitting the ground, they'll stop and crawl on it.

At this point, as long as the light is shining directly on their eyes, the flies seem to be blinded, so you can just calmly pick them up and either crush them or move them elsewhere. Just try not to get your shadow on them before picking them up, but this is pretty easy if you hold the light in one hand, and pick up bugs with the other.

This method takes a little time, as you have to deal with each fly individually, but if you just want to remove the flies from a room and aren't worried about more finding a way in, this should do the trick.

I've only tried this once, but I got lots of flies of different kinds this way. Let me know if it works for you too! :-)

This post is in the #qwoa tag, which stands for Quick Word of Advice. I think it would be cool if, in the random lessons and mistakes we all make while living our lives, we made quick little posts like this about things we think others might find valuable. I will try to remember to do this going forward, and I'd love to see others post their tips as well :-D

Image Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center