Truth be told: Keep your umbrella to yourself

Welcome to part two of this exciting new series that contains true and real-life stories where rude, selfish, arrogant, oblivious and mean people get what they probably got coming to them for a long time.

I call it quality control.


Today's encounter: Oblivious behavior in the rain

I was on subway on my way home from work, as usual. It was raining heavily and almost all the seats in the train were taken, except one, where a woman in her early forties had put her purse.

I walked up to her, looked at her purse, then at her, and I asked "Excuse me, can I sit here?". She looked up and said "Of course" and removed her purse from the seat.

Under her purse, she had put her soaking wet umbrella directly on the seat (subways in Oslo have fabric seats). So when she removed her umbrella, the seat was obviously soaking wet as well.

I looked down at the wet seat, then at her and said something like

You know... When you put your wet umbrella on the seat, the seat will get wet as well, and then noone can sit there..

She said "Yeah.. I can see that. I'm sorry".

Note: She wasn't SO sorry or anything like that, just "sorry". Definitely not sorry enough to offer me her own dry seat.

I made sure she saw and heard my sigh, before I stepped away. I also made sure to stand in her field of view for the rest of the train ride.

Quality control complete


If you enjoyed reading this, feel free to check out Part one: That's a pretty mean thing to do, where I also provide some background information as to why I'm doing this.

Lastly, a question to those of you that has read part one. Do you think I should I include more of the background information/call to action in each post, or should I only link to it like I've done above?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center