Daily illustrated wisdom: Importance of adapting.


Only in Guatemala, you can find Barbies dressed in local Mayan clothes.

That actually digs a little deeper than one could think. At first, I was laughing, but when I realized that it is pure genius. Have you ever been in Guatemala? Well, most of the women and girls are wearing local Mayan clothes there. Especially in the more distant towns or villages. So why the hell would girls want to play with the Barbies, dressed in some modern Western t-shirts and mini-skirts?

The answer - there is no actual reason why they should. That is why Barbies in San Marcos had to adapt to the environment.

It blows my mind, though. If Barbies can adapt, why cannot so many people?

I so often see travelers, who come to a new country as guests and act if they own it. I see so many people with such a huge ego that are not prepared to work alongside others.

That is how all the fights start in the world. I perfectly understand how local people are unhappy with some ignorant tourists, who come and disrespect their laws and traditions.

I am not saying that we all have to agree on certain laws, but we all have to be humble enough towards the fact that some people choose to live that way. It has nothing to do with right or wrong. It is just different.

In my opinion, being adaptive and flexible to the situation can only make great things happen. When I am at my house, I follow my rules, but if I go to visit my friend, I act according to his rules. Simple as that, yet so hard to achieve.

We have to keep fighting against our egos and learn to respect that free choice of others. I am not talking about tolerating here... I am talking about accepting. Or if you cannot do so, better just stay away from all of it. Nobody ever wanted to be taught by force and I cannot see it changing. So spare everyone's time and mind your own business.

One of the main rules of evolving is learning to put on that local dress just like those pretty Barbies.

Adapting is not equal to humiliating yourself. It is equal to respecting your environment and being wise to learn from it.


For more of my strange work, you can visit my lovely blog on Facebook!

Express your thoughts as nothing makes me happier.

And just have a nice day, my fellow steemians! :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center