Sowing My Indoor Salad Greens!

Sowing Indoor Greens

Here, in New England, North East Coast of the US, I have a limited growing season, compared to say, The US South, or California. Or almost anywhere in Central America like Costa Rica, Guatemala, etc. I have about 170 or so growing days, between my average LAST frost in spring, and average FIRST frost in fall. I am trying to grow food for feeding my family, without spending a lot of time and money, at grocery and farmer's markets. I can grow some things, for storage, some squashes, potato, etc, as well as drying some herbs for longer term. I can grow a lot of tomato, and preserve it as sauces. I can dehydrate onions, carrots,etc, for storage, too. BUT, I cannot grow leafy green vegetables outside in winter, and these do NOT store well.

Romaine Lettuce, only a week or so old.

I have, for a couple of years now, planted indoors, in my basement, under grow lights, a couple of types of lettuce, spinach, and arugula. These, I can grow over time, harvest, regrow and serve fresh at my table.


I find myself planting as follows:

I plant the first container, (above in the back) with some lettuce (left) and some spinach (right). After a couple weeks, I sow seeds in another container, and so, when I start harvesting some of the first container (behind), the second one is already growing. When it is time for harvesting from the second, I already have a third set of seeds growing, so I will always have one set I am harvesting, one I am growing, and one set of seeds I am just starting!

By planting indoors, I can feed my family fresh grown lettuce and spinach, without going to a market or store to pay expensive prices for who knows what kind of food?

I will be trying new and different salad greens, mustard greens, lettuces, arugula, and spinaches to see what grows best, fastest and most prolific!

Check out the video, and see how I grow my INDOOR GREENS from seed to salad bowl! Let me know, below! My gardens are in Zone 7a/7b New England.

#gardening #garden #gardentips #herbs #seeds #indoorgarden #salad #microgreens #lettuce


Consider Subscribing on Youtube, if you help me grow, I can help you grow!

It really helps me out if you subscribe to my YouTube Channel...
...and of course, if you SHARE the Video, too!

MANY Thanks!

This video is a look at HOW I my salad greens, indoors!



Most of you know, I prefer to grow my own food, locally. It's healthier for my family, and for the planet. I know what goes into my foods, and what chemicals are NOT in my food. Also, It cuts down on carbon emissions, less trucking, planes, trains, and boats, to get fresh foods to my table.

And that makes me smile... better for the planet, better for my own family.


Are you growing and gardening? Are you participating in GroVid24? use the hashtag #growvid24 for your gardening posts, too!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid24 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Images by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

1400posts.png7500comments.png8000payout.png11000replies.png170000upvoted.png340000upvotes.png
postallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngXmas2022.pngpud.s3.pngverified.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.pngbirthday-6.png




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center