My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge: They, the Heroes of mine.

Welcome to my page.png

Hope that everyone is happy and rich of positive energy to share around, ya! 😊
And tonight, I would like to share you something! Eits, no worries! It is about life! Don't you think that talking about life is very interesting?

For me, I will say that life is a universal laboratory where human being doing her/his endless research. Life taught us a lots of things, and it is going to teach us more and more. We faced difficulties in life, we met happiness also there. We smiles or even laugh out loud when facing the fun of life, and eyes full of tears for the sorrow and sadness. We smiling happily when the heart is rich of happiness, and cry crazily when got the heart broken. Life, life, life. Always full of mystery!

For me, I love my life! Life is fun. Life is easy. But Life is also difficult. We can't blame anyone for their description about life, since each people has difference experience in living her/his life. The similar one is, that life taught us the lesson learnt.

And in this learning process, there are one or more people which have had a positive influence in our lives. The people that help us being me, you, or us now. I can name more than one persons if you asked me to do so. And I would like to name them now! 😊😃

They, the heroes of mine.

border pinky flowers.png

1. Dad


It was a blessed for me to be surrounded by positive people.
The first one, of course my Dad. He, is the most inspiring person I used to know. A big hearted person I ever had. He is full of responsible father, full of dedication civil servant, and has huge of love and care for his family. He is the role model where we learn a lots about how to be a responsible person, how to always keep our promise and as well as learned about consistency and commitment. I will not explain more about him since I believe that you all will directly understood how big influence a good father has in the life of her daughter by reading this quote.

Every Woman May Not be Queen to Her Husband, But She is Always a Princess to Her Father

For me, this quote described clearly how big love and influence my dad has for me.

2. Mom.


She is the angel in the body of human being. I won't explain more since I believe that you also understood how big love and care a mother has for her children. My brothers and I, always run to this hero any time my dad got mad on us. Lol. We run to her whenever we faced financial issues and need more incentives. Haha. Mom is the angel where I learnt about love, care and patience. Mom is the angel, the one who has endless love.

border autumn leave.png

3. Zoel, younger brother.


Once upon a time...,


It's about ten years ago, when my daughter was in her 10 years old. There was a conflict in my marriage life. Husband and I were no more in a harmony of family life. I can't explain here what exactly the problem was, since I appreciate our privacy. We quarreled, fight each other and scolded each other, even violent domestic violence. Its a terrible life, and poor my daughter! She experienced this bad life for that moment.

Zoel, is a younger brother of mine. He is a calm-handsome and kind hearted man who loves his sister very much. I knew that. I feel it. I admired his way of thinking and talking very much. He did not talk much actually, but once he talked, we will agree. This hero came to me with a formula. He called it a 'formula of life'. How does this formula work?

formula of life.png

Here is the explanation!

Sist, to understand the formula, let's imagine that God gives you 60 years to live here, on the earth. And now, you are 35 years old. So you still have the 25 years to live your life. In this next 25 years, what will you do? There are 3 options available.

a. You will try to forgive and give him another opportunity to be your husband, while you are exactly aware that his manner is hard to be improved. It is like a cycle. He became a good man in several months, but then return into his bad attitude. You told me this cycle already. You know that this bad character can't be corrected.
So, if you chose this option, your 25 years left will be in this cycle.

b. You will give him another chance. The consideration is based on the theory of possibility. Probably, he will change. He is tired with conflict of marriage life, and willing to improve himself so that he will be able to recondition the situation. This is a fifty fifty theory actually. It could be good but it could also be stagnant. If good, your 25 years left will be in a happy family life. But if it run bad, your 25 years will left in the hell.

c. Starting a new life! This is another option you may consider.
As you absolutely believe that his manner/attitude can not be fix anymore. As you already know that this is a cycle. You may directly walk into this option. Start your new life. Leave him, take your daughter with you and fill your 25 years left with a new hope and effort. Lots of good opportunities are awaiting.

You have these three options. Feel free to think first, rethink and decide later on. But, please, don't take a long time to consider, because your time is running fast. Put your daughter as a priority. She deserves to have a peace environment, love and care.

border hand and rose.png

My dear brother ended up his explanation of the formula. And...?
I got my eyes wide opened! He is really-really true. This formula helped me a lots! I didn't event need more time to decide, because my heart made the decision faster than my brain did the analysis.

I took option number three! Followed by filing divorce papers. I no longer cared about husband's objections. I don't care. I wanna be free and wanna reach my happiness. This conflict was not the first one. So I won't take the first or second option. I was sick of those habit. So the third option is the best one.

And, yes! My life getting much better after the divorce. Zoel with his 'formula of life' is my hero, whose driven me to take that brave decision. Went out from the 'comfort un-comfort zone'. I used to think to keep living that way (in the conflict) in order to keep my daughter have me and her dad in the same home. Fortunately, my hero came, offered the formula, and led me to bravely made the decision.

Now, my daughter has a new kind hearted daddy already. Yeayyy!! 😊😃 Life is good and the show must go on, right?

border anggrek ungu.png

Wow, this is already too long! But I still have one series of heroes left.

Salvador Baldizon, The late of Mrs. Arsyiah Arsyad and Mr. Eddy Purwanto.


They were my supervisors when I was involved in the tsunami recovery project in Aceh, around 2005 - 2012.
I learned how to be a a good team player and built a good team as well as maintained a good team work from Salvador Baldizon, the Director of Medical Team International, an international NGO from Portland, United States.

I learned how to work well and 'play' safe with the government stakeholders from the late of Mrs. Arsyiah Arsyad. She was a high level of civil servant, whose very humble and has the elegant way in communicating with all the stakeholders. I learned a lots from her.

Eddy Purwanto. He is the deputy of operation at BRR NAD - NIas, the executing agency established by the government of Indonesia in doing the rehabilitation and reconstruction Aceh and Nias post tsunami. From this humble man, I learned how to manage the conflict in the field. The conflict here was about the unstable situation occurred during the rehabilitation and reconstruction process. I learned about how to negotiate with various stakeholders.

border bunga campur.png

Well, this post has become a long-long story. I do hope you could reach to this paragraf 'happily' and before I close, let me summarize them into an ending paragraf.

Life taught me lots of things. And the heroes I mentioned above have played a role models that led me to be who I am now. I took the good things from them, modified, adapted and applied those on myself to be this ME. They are my heroes, and I believe that I will meet more heroes as far as we still live our life. Don't you agree, steemians?

This article is provided to participate in the promo mentor challenge, hold by @promo-mentors initiated by @Futurethinker and The Team.

Al, Bandung, 23 Mei 2018

follow Al.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center