Are you learning too many programming languages?

Discuss short but precise and insightful opinions on exciting topics such as initiation, entrepreneurship, and technology. Share your thoughts in the comments below. 

Do you have learners syndrome?

I noticed a trend in behavior, especially in the world of technology and software development. I did not know the name, so, for now, we call it Apprentice Syndrome. Describe a behavior in which people always look for something they can learn but never use honestly.

I still see this problem in web development. In recent years, I have noticed that the number of images on the Web has increased dramatically. The following image shows how many there are there.

You can see that there have been many executives in the last five years. I also realized that web developers should know many of these structures as if they were a badge of honor. Why?

I suffer a lot from the apprentice syndrome, and I have to fight against it. Learning another language or another technology is always a fun experience for me. I even created simple web applications with:

  • Go
  • TypeScript
  • NodeJS
  • React
  • Angular
  • Spring
  • … x100

The list continues. I have made many requests for something more than I would like to admit, and I think I am smart now. Maybe I will include this in my curriculum:

Interviewer: Have you built something that does produced?
Me: not, However, I have a lot of TodoMVC web applications in my portfolio that I created using an isomorphic React server in NodeJS.

Unclear boundaries

The biggest problem with so many of these technologies is a "good" web developer. You are expected to understand most of them, including the back-end versions. I think it is unfair A few years ago, the boundaries between a front-end developer and a back-end developer were clear. Today, there are no more limits. We call it "full stack." It seems like a way to get someone to do the job twice and not specialize in both.

I am more interested in backend technologies, but with the advent of isomorphic servers, I often write code for the interface. If you are not familiar with isomorphic servers, look at an example.

I feel that when I learn different configurations and technologies, my ability to build something valuable with them diminishes. I spend more time teaching than building. When I start doing something and spend time there, I miss the new cooling technologies, and I am afraid to stay behind.

Technology

I think the answer is to find a balance. Concentrate on a technology and develop it. Of course, you can learn new techniques, but spend an hour a day instead of less. Make sure it is a hobby and not an addiction.

The syndrome of the student seems to get worse when he is in a job where he uses only one technology (since we spend most of his free time learning new techniques instead of developing something with him). However, if you work in a home that encourages learning, you can make the most of both. (My comments about the work can be found here last).

I recommend going back and thinking. How many languages

or executives did you know last year? How many applications have you built? If they are more than three, you will probably learn too much. Of course, you may want to do that, but I think many of us could benefit from spending more time with just one technology.

I would like to hear your thoughts

Let's discuss:

  1. Do you have a learning syndrome?
  2. Do you agree with the idea of

    focusing on learning a technology/programming language? Why or why not?
  3. How do you make sure that you adequately learn programming languages?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now