Writer for Profit

You'd think it might be easy to write for profit, but seriously being a writer for profit isn't as easy as it looks. The whole concept seems to be of interest to a lot of people, but just this last week, I invited writers to post blog articles for publication with the option of including a resource box with links to their own work. These could have included any specialty, and I was met with "but I don't know what to write about" by so-called experienced writers.

Come on now, you're a writer and you don't know what to write?

I know writer's block is real, but if you're supposed to be a writer and you can't sit down and fill a blank piece of paper with something resembling value - you're not much of a writer.

##Freelance writing is 90% being able to put your thoughts into words.##

It's a key concept, and to market yourself well, you really should be able to write articles in a variety of specific subject areas with a tag to yourself, reminding your reader why they should hire you to write their next major presentation. Quite honestly, most writers can create an article for a blog - blindfolded, without coffee. Tricky concept, but it can be done. (I haven't had coffee this morning, yet.)

Go ahead, give me a topic.

Over the past 35 years as I create content for various purposes, I've been handed a wide variety of topics. The craziest one, if you know me, might have been a request for a sales letter selling imported gift items. Even so, three days later, I had created a passable sales letter recommending everyone who read it, purchase a selection of imported gift items.

STELLAR RESULTS. I was overwhelmed by the results of that sales letter (especially since it was the first one I'd ever written), because the woman who had asked me for it had a garage filled with gift items to sell. She sold out of her garage full of items, and ordered in a second and third shipment from Oriental Trading using the same letter. Was it really the letter?

A professional sales letter writer later told me the letter itself wasn't as impactful as the tone of the letter. I had made her garage sound like the ultimate in amusement park, and she'd managed to depict that same brand when people stopped by to look at what she offered. Impressive. With my first letter, I branded my customer, and gave her a means of pulling in clientele.

Last seen, she's still using my letter, and still selling out of her Garage Content pretty rapidly.

##The other 10% is charging for what you do.##

I just told you, she's still using THAT same letter. Quite often when you write content for a client, you either become a consistent writer, working for that client as they write each new piece, or the client uses your work over and over without rehiring you. (I should charge that woman royalties!) The key is to charge what your work is worth.

One of my favorite copywriters won't touch a keyboard for less than $20K. His jobs are random, generally not more than one a month, or so... And he makes good money. Yes, my friend, he charges a lot for his work, and his clients get great returns. If I were to run through his client list for you, you'd recognize their names. Most freelance writers, copywriters, charge per job.

The best way to find the right freelance writer is to talk to the one whose writing you admire. If you like their style, when writing for someone else, you'll probably like what they write for you.

As a writer for profit, my advice to you is to write your own marketing pieces. Don't be afraid to write quality content for yourself. And never let the rules of writing overrule your writing style.

Know your audience and write to impact the lives of those who will read what you write.

==============

Follow me on Twitter @JanVerhoeff

Visit my website http://janverhoeff.com or let's have coffee.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center