Designing my room with productivity and mental hygiene in mind

When I was 8 my parents gave me a room of my own for the first time. I went to bed that night, scared. The room felt too big without my sister dozing beside me. That night I dreamt of flying down a deserted highway in the twilight. I woke up the next morning excited, and began arranging and rearranging my room (starting with pushing my bed up against the safety of The Wall) The possibilities!

To me, a well designed room/home offers
a physical outlet for my inner aesthetic,
a wellspring of comfort, both practical and emotional,
and an atmosphere that not only facilitates but encourages productivity.
In this way, a simple dwelling place can become ones temple, workshop, and therapy.

I've recently moved into a room measuring roughly 11 x 11' and about 10' high. I'm going to be spending the next 10 months living out of this room -- mainly reading, internet-ing, and sleeping. I have drawn up a plan and bought the materials to build a loft bed to free up some floor space, but I have little experience in carpentry so I'm kind of nervous about messing up the integrity of the structure. I'd hate to put myself at risk of a rude awakening. (If there is anyone who is willing to look over the plans I have drawn up, let me know.)

So far I have a small fold-up desk, a mattress on the floor, and a reading chair. I want to create this into a room that will have me smiling and sighing in relief as I walk in, held together with a type of organized chaos, that's zen enough to where I can meditate without being too distracted.
Vines, succulents, and other green plants.
A wide open work area and decluttered floor. Plenty of shelves and knick knacks on the walls. A place for my humble collection of reading material.

I'm still in the progress of unpacking, but once my room is less of a mess I will be sure to upload pictures. It helps me flesh out my plans in my head.

2017-06-25 19.54.39.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center